The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AWstats 'Update Now" Button Disappears and ...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MUTTLEY, Apr 11, 2003.

  1. MUTTLEY

    MUTTLEY Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problem 1: This for me is one of the features I like about AWS and for some reason that button goes away once a day. So once a day I have to re-upload the ' awstats.undergroundplanet.com.conf ' file with " AllowToUpdateStatsFromBrowser=1 ", than the button comes back and all is right with the world.

    Problem 2: It says " Warning: HostAliases parameter is not defined, awstats choose "undergroundplanet.com localhost 127.0.0.1". " after I update. This ones a little lost on me as I'm a n00b and don't know a thing about scripting or programing. In the example it give:

    "www.myserver.com x.y.z.w localhost 127.0.0.1"

    Um, wtf is that ? So my site is www.undergroundplanet.com. I believe its listed somewhere else in the file it says " SiteDomain="undergroundplanet.com". What does the " x.y.z.w " represent and how else should I list it under host alias.

    Thanks guys.

    - Ray
     
  2. MUTTLEY

    MUTTLEY Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. Uneeeq

    Uneeeq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For some reason user's custom .conf file in /home/userdirectory/etc/awstats is overwritten DAILY to be a mirror of the main awstats .conf file

    so it is all or nothing scenario

    I just changed the main awstats config file to allow updates from browsers for everyone - then - the following morning every one of our users had UPDATE NOW link in the detail page of awstats

    ((One mistake I made was forgeting to chmod the main awstats 644 so at first everyones awstats stopped working because the server could not read the main conf file and overwrote users awstats....conf files blank - so be sure not to make the same mistake))

    I have not been able to figure out what and where tells the server to overwrite /home/userdirectory/tmp/awstats/*.conf files every night - it is somewhere in the script that does the daily logs or daily updates on the server.... switching that off would have been the right thing to do - thus each user could keep their custom awstats...conf file rather than having to upload/reconfigure it daily

    cheers
    Genie
     
  4. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well my perl knowledge isn't that great however i think this might the offending block of code frm cpanellogd

    I have to wonder why the main awstats.conf file isn't closed though
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Anybody know how to keep the file from being overwritten? I tried doing chattr +i but the "Warning: HostAliases parameter" message comes up after cpanel updates.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    I have never seen this button on the new AWStats in cpanel. I have it on an older version of aws...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    It's in the config file.
    AllowToUpdatefromBrowser=0

    It will appear if you change the 0 to a 1.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    point me to the path for this conf file please :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    There's one in each user's tmp folder:
    /home/username/tmp/awstats/domain.com.conf

    And the main one is at:
    /usr/local/cpanel/etc/awstats.conf

    I changed the main one and then did chattr +i to it and things seem to be working.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you chattr it +i and things change with urchin in the future then you may find urchin stats not updating since a required config var would be missing.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I thought we were talking about AWSTATS config and not urchin? :confused:
     
  12. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    ditto......where does urchin fit into this, I dont even have that on mine that I have seen :p

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Sorry.. I was reading and urchin thread at the same time.. s/urchin/awstats :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    :cool:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This has been added as an option in tweak settings now with the latest edge ( it takes ~24-48 hrs before the update now will show up in cPanel after you enable it )

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    where? I dont see anything added
    WHM 7.4.0 cPanel 7.4.0-E27__
    RedHat 8.0 - WHM X v2.1

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. MySundown

    MySundown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's in the tweak settings options right under the awstats reverse dns setting:

    [ ] Allow users to update Awstats from cPanel.

    As bdraco wrote, it takes time after it's been enabled for it to go into effect (your stats have to run first).

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    thanks found it :cool:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. manokiss

    manokiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    any solution about the "Warning: HostAliases parameter is not defined....." ? we have the same problem.

    thanx in advance

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. webfeatus

    webfeatus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bali
    Using "Update now" works but returns the following:

    Warning: HostAliases parameter is not defined, awstats choose "domain.com localhost 127.0.0.1".

    Can anyone tell me what this means?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page