The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

awstats

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE, Jun 3, 2002.

  1. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do we turn this on and where is access to it @?

    Awstats now ready for use. Awstats must be turned on in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config before it will appear in your users cPanel. Make sure to restart cpanellogd afterwards. killall -TERM cpanellogd;/usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd This makes use of the new &cpanelif& tag. Stats will be generated 24 hours after awstats is first enabled. (4.7.0 build 25 or later only)

    our cpanel.config says skipawstats=1

    is this on or off? what should it be set to?
     
  2. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    anyone help? Nick?

    -Ed
     
  3. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    This is a good question .. my guess that since a &1& means on and a &0& would mean off and that param you are referring to is &skipawstats& .. i would think that a &1& would tell it to skip them and and &0& would NOT skip them??? am I right?
     
  4. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep - set it to 0 to have it run. Think of the &skip awstats& as a question. 1 for yes, 0 for no.
     
  5. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thankx, How does anyone access these?


    -Ed
    TYS
     
  6. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you are using a default control panel (one that is updated by cpanel) then an option will appear in the clients control panel just like webalizer, etc.
     
  7. BurtonHost

    BurtonHost Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone know how to or what to run to produce the stats - I know it does it every night but I want to run it now to see if it has worked changing this option..

    Any ideas how to or which cron to run?

    Thanks
     
  8. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Burt in the scripts directory run the file called runweblogs and this will ask you what username to update.
     
  9. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:53401823df][i:53401823df]Originally posted by Marty[/i:53401823df]

    If you are using a default control panel (one that is updated by cpanel) then an option will appear in the clients control panel just like webalizer, etc.[/quote:53401823df]


    Thank You.
    -Ed
    TYS
     
  10. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    changed skipawstats=1 to =0
    kill all term -----etc etc etc

    ==& Loading Config ....product myname adminuser basename version root engineroot engine enginepl cycle docroot access_log stats_log port RS VALIASDIR VFILTERDIR extracpus skipawstats


    iconic cpanel under stats says awstats. inside it said this:

    Error: Couldn't open config file &awstats.mydomain.com.conf& nor &awstats.conf& : No such file or directory

    Setup (Config file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
    See AWStats documentation in 'docs' directory for informations on how to setup awstats.

    any ideas?
     
  11. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    24 hours later, still error above post
     
  12. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Error: Couldn't open config file &awstats.mydomain.com.conf& nor &awstats.conf& : No such file or directory

    Setup (Config file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
    See AWStats documentation in 'docs' directory for informations on how to setup awstats.

    [/quote]

    &Run the file called runweblogs and this will ask you what username to update.& I did this and awstats is now working on 1 user. is there a way to (runweblogs serverwide)
     
  13. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /scripts/runlogsnow I believe is the system run.
     
  14. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did above: /scripts/runlogsnow

    from user cpanel iconic:

    Error: Couldn't open config file &awstats.domain.com.conf& nor &awstats.conf& : No such file or directory

    Setup (Config file, web server or permissions) may be wrong.
    See AWStats documentation in 'docs' directory for informations on how to setup awstats.
     
  15. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    after testing here, this awstats is nice however running /scripts/runweblogs username everyday on every username is not something i look forward to doing. Nick is there a way to have users cpanel run /scripts/runweblogs before showing them results or something??

    -Ed
    TYS
     
  16. Mary B.

    Mary B. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Before I make a mess of my server, how does one restart cpanellogd? I saw this in the first post in this thread, followed by this: killall -TERM cpanellogd;/usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd. Is that string of whatever it is, something to type into Putty to restart cpanellogd? If so, do I type it in just like it is, or is there more to it? Thanks for any help! I'm just beginning to learn about shell access. :p

    Mary
     
Loading...

Share This Page