The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Back-up Question...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tom Pyles, Oct 21, 2002.

  1. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On one of our servers, we had an extra drive that was dedicated to back-ups. I logged in tonight and I noticed that are /backup partition is missing...also can't find it via SSH. Last time I checked was about a week ago and the partition was there with back-up data in it. Any idea why the partition would have just disappeared like that?
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Do you have Remount/Unmount backup drive, enabled? If I have my facts straight, this will cause the drive to disapear when not in use.
     
  3. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes I do...everything had been fine and the backups were going into that drive...I spoke with our provider and their support says they have never seen a drive unmount itself....its fixed now, but we'll see what happens, but strange none the less...BTW, when it was remounted, all the old back-ups were there...looks like it unmounted during a recent update.
     
  4. SonServers

    SonServers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My server did the exact same thing last night. Something caused the backup drive to become unmounted so the updates were put into the root partition. Well, of course it didn't take long to fill up the root partition which caused a bunch of things to quit working.

    This happened to me during the daily backup for 3-4 days straight a few months ago. I didn't say anything then because no one else was posting about it.

    Since the problem went away last time, I assumed that it was a cpanel problem that got fixed with an update.

    I'll watch and see if it happens again tonight.
     
  5. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Checked again today and the backup partition is missing again...Also noticed our /usr/ partition had a leap in the space used...I need to look and see where that is coming from...I've always kept an eye on our /usr/ and kept it down as much as I can...our back-up drive dissapears and the /usr/ shoots up to 74%
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Perhaps disable the unmount/remount feature?
     
  7. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was under the impression that should be enabled when using a back-up drive....should this be disabled then?
     
  8. tims

    tims Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mine mounts and unmounts the back up drive and it works fine. The back ups still get done correctly you just can't see the drive.
    I'm sure if you search you will find the reason why it is setup this way but I wouldn't worry about it unless you need to access that drive for something else.

    Tim
     
  9. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've double checked with our provider and have learned that the backup drive is supposed to mount and unmount itself. Perhaps it is a safety feature in the even there were an attack or something (not a bad idea the more I think about it)...Now, one more question...I wanted to set up the domlogs in the /usr directory to go into the back-up drive, freeing up some space in my /usr partition...I've found out that I will not be able to do this because of that unmount. Is it possible to put these logs in the /home or the /var partitions....
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    As long as you are sure you have enough space and that space won't be needed soon, you can create a domlogs directory in one of them, then use a symbolic link to let the system know where the new directory is.
    It is recommended to shut down apache during the move which would mean doing it at a slow time. Just move the current domlogs directory to where you want it, then create the symbolic link at the old location.
     
  11. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Squirrel,
    Thanks for the reply. I'm able to move the directories and set up the sym links...I was just concerned if it was safe to put them in the /home or the /var partition. I've set it up in the /var partition and works great...I just wanted to ask first because I know there are issues doing back-ups in these partitions...didn't know if it was the same for dom logs....Thanks again!
     
Loading...

Share This Page