The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backing up database

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by windsurfer, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. windsurfer

    windsurfer Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have a website - Removed - and was wondering what the best way is to back up the database on a regular basis, also when the db backs up does it overwrite the previous back-up ?

    Regards
    Wil
     
    #1 windsurfer, Dec 20, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 20, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    There are no native options to automate database backups with cPanel access only. Have you contacted your hosting provider to see if they already backup the databases on a daily basis? The alternative would be to utilize a custom PHP script on a cron job as discussed by another user on this thread:

    Site Backup Using Cron Job

    Thank you.
     
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Wil

    I perform a manual backup of my Cpanel every friday.
    The Cpanel backup allows various choices. Databases, Mail, Home Directory etc.
    Then come back an hour or two later to ftp the zip file off in one.

    Whilst something automated would of course remove the human forget factor, it's not particularly time consuming to manually.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can setup a remote FTP destination when you manually Generate a Full Backup and save yourself a step there. :)
     
  5. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I personally ftp to my work PC, so i prefer to do it manually just before I leave work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page