The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backing up the site...and uploading

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by izimngcubes15, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. izimngcubes15

    izimngcubes15 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi I have a question about backing up the website (full backup) and uploading the bacup in a new host. Is it possible to do so? I did, but it didnt do anything? What am i supposed to after it was uploaded to the cpanel on the new host? help me please
     
  2. izimngcubes15

    izimngcubes15 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    can anyone help me?!!!
     
  3. izimngcubes15

    izimngcubes15 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  4. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cpanel have a backup utility. you just need to backup your site, or ask your host for a backup and then restore it in the other server.

    or you can provide the host with your user/pass and he will be avail to recover all the information and automaticaly setup your account.

    carlos
     
  5. jumbojet

    jumbojet Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    can't we do this from our own control panel ?
     
  6. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes you can, from the backup section.
     
  7. jumbojet

    jumbojet Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Backup Section has 3 options for restore :

    Restore a Home Backup
    Restore a MySQL Database Backup
    Restore an Alias/Filter Backup

    I did a full backup and now when i try to restore it , it just wont take it :( any idea why ?
     
  8. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    different cp versions ?

    which error you getting and how big is the backup?
     
  9. jumbojet

    jumbojet Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-R161
    RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    The restore would go on forever and i dont even see "restoring files" icon :'(
     
  10. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    how big is the backup? how big is your uploadparameter in your php.ini and the timeout in the same file?
     
  11. jumbojet

    jumbojet Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Its just 2 MB ! i dont think this should be anything any server wont support ?
     
  12. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    well.. it depends on the settings of the server, but it should realy work fine. did oyu aks your provider?
     
  13. taotoon

    taotoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try full backup

    - save to home and manual ftp to the new server.
    - auto FTP upload to the new server.

    then

    Place the full backup tar.gz file in /home and run

    /scripts/restorepkg user ('user' being the cpanel account username for that backup)

    or use whm to restore the backup as someone already mentioned.
     
  14. taotoon

    taotoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh! sorry you meant , restore by a normal cpanel user without upload via form submission.
     
Loading...

Share This Page