The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup account configs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jeewhizz, Sep 11, 2004.

  1. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London, England
    Is there a file or set of files that i can backup on the server that will store information on the server accounts. For example, each accounts quota, bandwidth allowance, number of db's etc which i can then use ths file to re-create the account 'skeleton' on another server so the new server has all the accounts on it, but not any files?

    Cheers

    Jee
     
  2. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Would you explain what you want to achieve here ? Creating same domains on the other server yet not copying their data ? May i ask why you want to do that ? :)
     
  3. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I think they are talking about copying packages. The ability to create packages on one server and then make the same packages available on another server.
     
  4. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Could be perhaps otherwise it just doesn't make any sense.

    If thats what you are after copying the packages from one server to another, you can do the following

    1. cd /var/cpanel
    2. tar -cf packages.tar /var/cpanel/packages
    3. Transfer the packages.tar to another server.
    4. cd /var/cpanel
    5. tar xvf packages.tar

    Open your WHM and you should see the packages in there.

    Btw If you use cpanel account copy script for transfering accounts, you will also find the packages copy feature in there. It saves you the manual work as described above.
     
  5. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London, England
    I am doing some work for a no-frills hosting company. They don't backup client files - that is up to the client. However, should the worst happen, and the server hardware fail, or we need to do a restore, it'd be a nice feature to just import some files into cpanel to get the account structure setup so that clients can re=upload their files.

    I'm not after packages - and am aware on how to copy that, but rather the actual account structure - i.e. disk quota, bandwidth, number of db's etc etc.

    Cheers,

    Jee
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What about just unchecking "backup accounts" in the "configure backup"? It should still save the account info, just not the content.
     
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    that sounds like a nice idea, haven't tried it though.
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I'm not certain what it does because I don't use the cpanel backup, but it does sound like what Jee needs.
     
  9. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Mind me asking what do you use ?
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I use my own backup script, although because of this question, I found out I may not need to anymore.

    Close to 2 years ago I wrote my own backup script because I wanted a few variations from the default. At that time, cpanel backed up everything, and everything was daily, weekly, and monthly. I wanted daily and weekly, plus only wanted client accounts backed up, since I have mine on my own hard drive. So I wrote my own script.

    Due to this thread, I checked the backup settings, and noticed major changes. I especially liked the "choosing accounts". Now I don't really need my own script, but it works, so I may just keep using it.

    BTW, when did cpanel add the option to choose accounts?
     
  11. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ooh that has been quite sometime now. I don't remember the time but should be close to 3 months atleast when i saw it.
     
  12. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Oh well. I like writing my own scripts anyway. :) That's why I decided to put up my custom scripts section. ;)

    If the cpanel backup was like that 2 years ago, I would not have wasted time customizing my own. Cpanel keeps getting better. :) That's why I still use it.
     
  13. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    ditto :D cpanel rocks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page