The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup and restore site in cpanel, boxtrapper

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by peterreck, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am a newbie.

    Can someone guide me to a detailed protocol on how to backup and restore website files when migrating to a new server?

    I tried it and it won't work, i.e. uploading the files to the new server won't "take" even though I follow protocols I "googled".

    A major concern is to maintain my "whitelist" in boxtrapper. Will they be backed up in a full cpanel backup?

    Thanks in advance,

    Peter
     
  2. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Peter,

    I'm guessing you have root access to both your old and new server.

    Steps on backing up accounts
    -------------------------------------

    This guide is guessing that you have already made backups of each account you want to transfer to the new server by running the command

    Code:
    /scripts/cpbackup
    
    in SSH. Depending on your server specs and how many accounts you want to transfer this could take from 5 min to 4 hours. I'm also guessing that you have enabled backups in root WHM and have setup a folder to backup your file.

    This guide I'll be using the folder /backup/ to where my files all my accounts have been backup to. (The full path will look something like /backups/cpbackup/daily)

    Lets get started!!!

    ===
    1) In SSH cd to backup folder

    Code:
    root@server [/]# cd /backup/cpbackup/
    
    2) Now this is not where your files are located, but rather in a folder called daily, weekly or monthly. Your current backups should be in daily (daily folder is /backups/cpbackup/daily)

    3) We are now going to tar the whole daily folder

    Code:
    root@server [/backups/cpbackup]# tar -zcvf backup_daily_folder.tar.gz daily
    
    (Depending on how many accounts or your sever specs this could take anywhere from 5 min to 4 hours, your server may be "laggy" during this time)

    4) Once you have that done you should see a file named backup_daily_folder.tar.gz in /backups/cpbackup . We are now going to move this file to your new server!

    Code:
    root@server [/backups/cpbackup]# scp -c arcfour backup_daily_folder.tar.gz root@SERVERIP:/home/
    
    After you enter this, you will be asked for root's password and hit enter when your done. This will then trafser this file to that server.

    Once your done, type

    Code:
    root@server [/backups/cpbackup]# rm -rf backup_daily_folder.tar.gz
    
    (removes the tar file on your old server)

    ON YOUR NEW SERVER

    5) Go to your /home/ folder

    Code:
    root@NEWserver [/]# cd /home/
    
    and tpye this

    Code:
    root@NEWserver [/home]# tar -xvfz backup_daily_folder.tar.gz
    
    (This will unpack the tar)

    Once again lets delete the tar file

    Code:
    root@NEWserver [/home]# rm -rf backup_daily_folder.tar.gz
    
    Now in your new server logon to root WHM and click on the

    Backup > Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

    and use the information on that screen to use the accounts on the server.

    If you have any questions post them below!

    From,
    Adam
     
    #2 HelloAdam, Nov 13, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2006
  3. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you, Adam!

    I appreciate your detailed protocol!

    Unfortunately, I do NOT have root access. I am having 68 accounts in a reseller account on the old server. Those need to be moved to a new server. I heard about cpanel back-ups.
    I looked at cpanel backups and played around with them, but was unable to restore the accounts on the new server.

    Maybe I was being too ambitious wanting to do this migration on my own, and might just need to delegate it (for pay) to the new host.

    If you have any comments, I am open, but realize that it might be over my head.

    Thanks anyhow,

    Peter
     
  4. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Peter,

    Well since you don't have root access which sucks, you can still do this for free (your self) but takes a lot of time.

    One question, on your new server, do you have the option to restore accounts in WHM?

    From,
    Adam
     
  5. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Adam, thanks for now!

    I appreciate the time you took to engage in this topic.

    I lack the knowledge, and hopefully, once my life slows down a bit, I consider looking for a host where I have more options to do the things you are suggesting.

    For now, THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your helpful input!!!

    Peter
     
  6. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    heh no problem :)

    From,
    Adam

    P.S. You may want to check out Server Magagement if you get an VPS or Dedicated server...
     
  7. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    appreciation

    Adam,

    I am a bit "under the gun" (physically moving) AND really appreciate your reference to Eastsolid.com. Indeed VERY interesting, and when I grow up ;-)........I really want to take more control of my hosting needs.

    I have dabbled in hosting more like a hobby, then got a few people enrolled to host with me, mostly pro bono, and then realized that there are a great number of upstream hosting providers out there who are clearly not aligned with my values! Live and learn, so thanks again,

    Peter
     
  8. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thats is so stupid... i need to transfer acocunt and resellers form a server to different other servers.. due a HD problem it is not possible to do this manually...
    If they not fix this withing hours i will loose my customers due a HD faileur...
    :mad:
     
  9. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Hey,

    So whats your question? You can't transfer accounts because you hard drive is not working, so you are calling this method stupid. I think I get it :p

    From,
    Adam
     
  10. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wimp: Maybe you want to open your own thread?

    Wimp: I am the threadstarter, and have received some valuable information from Helloadam. I would appreciate if you leave me out of your loop, as what you post isn't related to what we're talking about, or, you haven't shown yet how it would be related.

    Peter
     
  11. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It is stupid that i pay fro somthing that does not work. (refering to the multi acocunt transfer in WHM)


    "peterreck" if the WHM multi account would work you could transfer account in a 1 click session without any headache
     
  12. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Multiaccount Transfer in WHM

    Wimp,

    Thank you for clarifying that you are feeling frustrated that the Multiaccount Transfer in WHM isn't working for you.

    I wasn't aware that it exists. So thank you for mentioning it.

    I am learning that what works best is to find out more about something that isn't working, and see if it is possible to get it to work? Maybe it requires a particular access privilege on the server? - I realize that I have yet a lot to learn before I can draw a bunch of conclusions, so I would be very happy to hear more about what it would take for the Multicaccount Transfer in WHM to work and what kind of access privileges it requires. Did you ask your new or old host about it?

    The part that is frustrating to me is that many of my questions remain unanswered, sometimes because it takes time and effort to post the questions clear enough that others can easily hear it, relate to it, and suggest solutions or further understanding around the issue. This is why I joined this forum, and I have already learned a bunch thanks to others who took the time to share.

    Regards,

    Peter
     
  13. wookiee

    wookiee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Howdy,

    I'm moving from a reseller account (no root access) to a brand new shiny dedicated server (all mine) & backup drive at another facility.

    How do you suggest that I move the 177 accounts (5 GB) from one to the other?

    'Copy multiple accounts from another server' in WHM or is your method better?

    Thanks for all the info so far.
     
  14. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Have your host do it for you, use Multiple accounts, or log on to each cpanel account via WHM and go to the backup section of cPanel and do remote FTP server and chose that option.

    You can also hire people to do this for you, send an email over to sales@eastsolid.com and they will work something out..

    From,
    Adam
     
  15. wimp

    wimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    multiple account transfer need root PW. You can transfer per account but 177 account needs time...
     
  16. peterreck

    peterreck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Attn. Wookie: Interested in sharing Space on new server?

    Wookie, are you setup to consider working with other resellers, or did you enter this new server contract with the intention to use it just for your own 177 accounts?

    I just switched servers, and moved to a new host with VERY reasonable rates, but the day will come when I would like to have root access.

    Regards,

    Peter
     
  17. svtbt

    svtbt Registered

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HelloAdam,

    Thank you very much...
     
  18. wookiee

    wookiee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas

    It wasn't too bad, it only took afew hours
     
  19. wookiee

    wookiee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yes, I'm thinking of working with resellers. I just have to get the billing set up.
     
Loading...

Share This Page