The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup....at what time?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by r3diensten, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. r3diensten

    r3diensten Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rossum, Overijssel, Netherlands
    I have configured WHM Backup (i'm root), but at what time WHM begins making backups?

    12 PM?? sorry for my bad english, i only help Dutch customers :P
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Backup is run as part of the cpanel upgrade operation. The time is set in the /var/spool/cron/root file. You will see a line something like
    55 2 * * * /scripts/upcp
    in that file, which in my case means it runs at 2:55am.

    You can change it in shell by doing
    crontab -e
    which will open the file for you to edit.
     
  3. r3diensten

    r3diensten Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rossum, Overijssel, Netherlands

    thnx, i know enough :D (how much load does Backup creates? backupping to remote FTP server)
     
  4. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    I want to schedule Fantastico to update right after cPanel updates & the backup is done. So how do I find out how long it take for the backups to finish?

    Oh & you said it runs durring cPanel update. Which one? I have the cPanel Package updates & Security Package updates run automatically daily BUT I do the cPanel/WHM Updates manually every weekend.

    I have my backup set to run daily in WHM so this is confusing me here. Please clarify. Thank you.

    EDIT:
    Ok so I went in & edited my /var/spool/cron/root file & below is what it says. Note the warraning at the top of this file. Is that a concern? Does this file look right?


    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE - edit the master and reinstall.
    # (/scripts/.crontab installed on Sat Feb 21 03:00:03 2004)
    # (Cron version -- $Id: crontab.c,v 2.13 1994/01/17 03:20:37 vixie Exp $)
    44 4 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/bin/expireall -r

    0 1 * * * /scripts/upcp
    2,58 * * * * /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    0 0 * * * /usr/local/bandmin/ipaddrmap
    0 6 * * * /scripts/cleanmsglog > /dev/null 2<&1
    0 6 * * * /usr/sbin/exim_tidydb /var/spool/exim callout > /dev/null 2<&1
    0 6 * * * /usr/sbin/exim_tidydb /var/spool/exim retry > /dev/null 2<&1
    0 6 * * * /usr/sbin/exim_tidydb /var/spool/exim reject > /dev/null 2<&1
    0 6 * * * /usr/sbin/exim_tidydb /var/spool/exim wait-remote_smtp > /dev/null 2<&1
    */5 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dcpumon >/dev/null 2>&1
     
    #4 ThunderHostingDotCom, Feb 21, 2004
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2004
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    See my reply in your other thread.

    Also, even if you have cpanel updates set to manual, /scripts/upcp still runs and does the security updates and backups, just skips the cpanel updates.
     
  6. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!

    Super, that is what I was hoping to hear! Thank you.
     
  7. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The load shoots up when backing up large accounts like 0.5 gig. The load increases when compressing the files.

    You can find out how long the backups are taking by looking at the email that you receive after the upcp process is complete. The difference between the starting time of the script and email's time will give you an idea on that.
     
  8. martindell

    martindell Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    multiple 'daily' backups possible?

    I scheduled two daily backups using the cron info in this thread and it worked a treat except that the second backup of the day didn't start because cpanel said that there was already a backup for that day!

    I'm trying to backup at lunchtime and in the evening so that I only have to cope with the loss of half a days work instead of a full day.

    Any ideas how to do this?
     
  9. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I too have configured the backup in WHM to back up to remote FTP space.

    However, when I run the /scripts/upcp script it doesn't seem to start the backup.

    Trying to restore an account keeps saying there is no /cpbackup directory.

    Cron job time configuration seems to be fine....

    Any advice please to test whether it starts properly and if not what log file would show me what fails?

    Thanks
     
  10. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Also please may I have a step by step guide or link on how to restore accounts from a FTP remote backup.

    Many heartfelt thanks to those who wish to help me and point me to the right direction.
     
  11. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    please may someone answer, I need help and cannot find any answer through search
     
  12. Ganga

    Ganga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    up

    urgent reply needed please!
     
  13. jasonstx

    jasonstx Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    if you do a cpanel backup from cpanel, just move it into /home, then from whm choose resotre a full backup/cpmove file.

    This feature will restore full backups, cpanel backups and cpanel move files in the format of: cpmove-user.tar.gz, user.tar.gz, backup-date_time_user.tar.gz

    The files must be in one of these directories on the server: /home,/usr/home,/web,/home2,/home3,/root,/usr
     
  14. nghia

    nghia Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Hello,

    I also have a daily backup set up in WHM.
    I would like to change the date. I followed your instructions above.

    Mine says : 40 1 x x x /scripts/upcp

    does it mean it runs at 1h40 am ?
     
  15. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It will run at 1:40am your server time. Change it to whenever the load is the lowest, but early enough in that period that the backup has time to finish before the server starts getting busy again.
     
  16. sv1

    sv1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This may sound stupid, how would I make it backup right now?
     
  17. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    This thread is really old and probably should not read anything in it.

    I believe cPanel is currently using /scripts/cpbackup to initiate a stand alone backup system.
     
  18. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Are for apache cPanel upgrade ftp backup available :confused:

    and is it a scrip based backup-system ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page