The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup bug

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hodfords, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. hodfords

    hodfords Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We are on:-

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.16.0-R18546
    CENTOS Enterprise 5 x86_64 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    Under

    > backup > Configure Backup

    and we keep change the Backup settings to "disabled" and then after a week or so, it automatically changes back to "restore only".

    We are only using bmu to do backups and we do not need WHM to do backups.

    We even tried deleting the cpbackup entry from the cronjob and WHM adds it back to the cronjob.

    What can we do switch off the WHM backup altogether.

    HELP!!!!
     
  2. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you are not changing any backup setting, do below after making your changes.

    chattr +i /etc/cpbackup.conf
     
  3. hodfords

    hodfords Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What is the point of having an interface when you have to log into server to change the permissions of a file... Can somebody at Cpanel address this bug please?

    This is completely absurd!

    Can somebody at Cpanel provide an actual bug fix? So that the system doesn't update the settings automatically.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only place/time cPanel modifies /etc/cpbackup.conf is via the interface in WHM.
     
  5. hodfords

    hodfords Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Could it be that we are using bmu for backups and it seems to be trying to access /etc/cpbackup.conf??

    If so, how do we get bmu to do backups and completely shut off cpanel backups?
     
Loading...

Share This Page