Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Configuration Files, and other stuff, Question

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by kimxt, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. kimxt

    kimxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I whas just reading this post:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f49/backup-configuration-files-98237.html

    And i try to reply there, and it told me to make a new thread. So i did.


    Hi, i'm new to this WHM/cPanel stuff.

    In case my server goes down for some reason, and i have to make a new install of everything, will this backup, when i restore it, get me back on track from where the backup where made?
    That is all apache, MySQL, WHM, cPanel and all other config files will be back where they was before, and i can live as nothing happen?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. kimxt

    kimxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As i see on the list of folders and files that is taken backup of, what else do i need?...
    I know when i install my OS again from image, install cPanel/WHM, restore this backup, and the account backup and all that, what else is there i need backup of to get back on track?..
     
  4. kimxt

    kimxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey again. Dident get any more feedback. Might be that i dident make myselfe clear enought on the questio?.. Let me try again..

    If i re-install my server, install all the stuff i need, and cPanel/WHM, and then restore all backup it can make and this ...

    What else is there i need before everything is as it whas?.. ofc when i dont have anything else on the system except Firewall and that settings.

    As its clearly saying: "Backup Configuration Files".... When you "Infopro" saying: "You'll still need to configure your new server as you did previously".... Well, what else is that this WHM system isnt backing up?...
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Your server OS and the cPanel software on it, can be reloaded easy enough. You want to make sure you have proper backups of all accounts.
     
  6. kimxt

    kimxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    euuuhm!...
    You dont get my point do you?...

    Yes i use ALL the backup stuff that is in WHM, i don't care about the accounts and user data in this question, as they are taken care of with this system..

    What i'm trying to get 100% here, is if i need some other kind a configuration file backup, other then what this product gives me?

    Again as its saying "Backup Configuration Files", and you "Infopro" whas not clear in the first reply and dident answer what i whas after.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I don't think I do, my apologies. You asked a question, I gave you links to the official documentation that should answer the question I think you're asking.

    From my earlier post:

    If it's not the Config files listed on that first link, and its not the accounts mentioned on the second link, please specify what it is you'd like to have backed up that you don't think is being backed up.
     
  8. kimxt

    kimxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi again Infopro.

    Well, i dont know all what cPanel is using or not using. But lets try again.

    I'm using WHM backup system and more or less everything is enable, all user data, all MySQL etc etc...

    Lets say my server goes down so bad, i need to install everything again.
    So i install OS, i download the script for cPanel/WHM and install that.
    I upload the Backup files WHM made to the server, and hit restore all.

    Is there something the server is missing then?.. (i know firewall isnt included so thats ok)
    Or is there something WHM don't take backup of?..
    Or does everything work now as before crash?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Any manually added scripts like ConfigServer Firewall for example would need to be installed again, yes. Configuring the server itself, root email, Basic setup, Tweak Settings configuration, Packages, are all items for consideration as well.

    The accounts are the most important thing.
     
  10. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Kimxt,

    cPanel backup will include all the account details such as website files, emails, databases etc. So there is no need to worry if you have cPanel backup of the file. You just need to copy the backup files and hit restore & that will restore the account fully. Incase of any system fault, as mentioned by Infopro, you need to reload the OS, reinstall cPanel. Thats it. You need to install/change custom modules/settings in cPanel only.

    Hope everything is clear now.

    If you need any more clarification, let us know.

    Cheers!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page