Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup cPanel to Commvault?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Elizabeta, Apr 17, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have cPanel version 68.0.36 and Commvault system backup in my company.
    I would like to know if someone uses Commvault for backup cPanel....



    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Elizabeta,

    I've not seen any reports from other cPanel & WHM users regarding that particular backup application, but I'm happy to help answer any questions or concerns you have about backups in general.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you Michael for your answer.

    I have one question, when i choose option on WHM Home-Backup-Backup Configuration enable backup and
    Configure Backup Directory
    /backup
    I have
    Warning : Your system does not have a separate filesystem for backups. This may cause performance degradation during the backup process.

    (enabling quotas)

    UUID=3b055367-711f-4240-928d-088978074a0f (already configured quotas = 0).

    /dev/mapper/rhel-home (enabling quotas)

    On the machine cPanel I have:
    /backup is /dev/mapper/rhel-root partition.

    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you run the following commands via SSH as root and let us know the output?

    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    mount|grep backup
    Thank you.
     
  5. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    We don´t yet mark Enable Backup via WHM.
    The output of the command is:

    [root@cpanel ~]# cat /etc/fstab

    #
    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Fri Mar 16 09:45:42 2018
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    /dev/mapper/rhel-root / xfs defaults,uquota 0 0
    UUID=3b055367-711f-4240-928d-088978074a0f /boot xfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/mapper/rhel-home /home xfs defaults,uquota 0 0
    /dev/mapper/rhel-swap swap swap defaults 0 0
    /usr/tmpDSK /tmp ext3 defaults,noauto 0 0
    [root@cpanel ~]# mount|grep backup


    Thank you!

    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Elizabeta,

    Thank you for the additional information. It looks like the output you see in "WHM >> Backup Configuration" is accurate, as /backup is not configured on it's own separate partition. While the warning message you see is accurate (it's not the ideal setup performance-wise), it shouldn't prevent backups from working. You can still proceed to enable backups using "/backup" as the destination if you prefer to not add a separate partition/filesystem for the /backup location. Let me know if you have any trouble with the configuration, and feel free to take a look at our documentation page at:

    Backup Configuration - Version 70 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thanks!
     
  7. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thanks Michael for the explanation.

    I have another question, If I enable backup and choose optin to backup users and the System files, is it enough to Restore entire cPanel machine. Aproximately which size of the backup would be (cca 100 hosting users)?

    Which are restore procedure. Is there some link documentation?

    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,245
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, we don't support restoring an entire filesystem. If there's a hardware failure or filesystem corruption, the best approach is to reinstall the OS and cPanel, and then restore the accounts from the backup archives.

    The backup sizes will vary depending on how much disk space the accounts utilize.

    Yes, we document how to restore the accounts from backup at:

    Backup Restoration - Version 70 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,134
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I would only add here for clarity that if you're backing up to the same drive alone, and there is any hardware failure, you may not have backups available to you. At a minimum, a second drive for backups only could be added to your server by your Hosting Provider. Better, backup to a second drive attached to the server and to a remote location as well.

    You can never have too many backups. ;)
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  10. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    Thank you very much for your answers!

    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  11. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have one question again. If enable backup via WHM and for backup schedule choose Daily, how to set up time for backup schedule?
    Via cron?

    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,134
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can find an area for this, here:
    WebHost Manager »Server Configuration »Configure cPanel Cron Jobs
     
  13. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To start backup manually, I should run via ssh command /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force ?

    Thank you!
     
  14. Elizabeta

    Elizabeta Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Mostar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thank you infopro for your explanation.

    Best regards,
    Elizabeta
     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,134
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's correct. Happy to help. )
     
Loading...

Share This Page