Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backup data and user account

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Pitkud, May 9, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Pitkud

Pitkud Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

I am new to cPanel and have some questions about data backup and user accounts, currently my cPanel runs on CentOS in VM.

1. Right now my /home is already 50%, and i do weekly compressed backup for the accounts and system files and transfer the backup to another server that acts as a storage.
    As far as i know in the backup process, before the backup file transferred to the storage, the system compresses the file at /home/backup and then transfer the compressed file.
    And what worries me if the capacity at /home reaches 70% or 80% then i can not do the compressed backup since i don't have the sufficient space.

I look in to the forum and see this tutorial posted to mount additional partition for backup :
    Tutorial - Preparing a local disk or partition for backups

Is this tutorial still the correct way to add more partition in my cPanel ? currently i'm using WHM v.78.021.

2. If i'm running out of space in my /home, or let's say i'm reaching 80% of /home capacity and i want to use extra disks or partition, can i use above tutorial to add additional partition to act as /home2 so newly accounts can be stored in the new /home2 partition ?
    Does the /home2 will create symbolic link to the accounts that exist in /home so if there is no space available in /home, new email for the accounts can be stored in /home2

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Pitkud,