The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Directory & Disk Space

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by dogpaw, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. dogpaw

    dogpaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a VPS account as root. I'm in the process of setting up the Backup Configuration within my WHM. The backup directory by default is /backup.

    If I use this directory, am I able to use the entire available disk space for my entire VPS? Specifically, I have a VPS account with 75GB of disk space. I'm currently using about 15GB of that space with all my individual cPanel accounts. Can I retain backups in the remaining, roughly, 60GB of disk space (assuming of course that my individual accounts don't use more space or I add more individual accounts)?

    thanks.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's really no value in backing up to the same drive. If hardware disaster or compromise, you're sunk. Configuring Backups to be pushed to a second hard drive or off server backup storage like a second VPS even, would be better.
     
  3. somewhere2go

    somewhere2go Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    But is possible retain backups in the remaining, roughly, 60GB of disk space (assuming of course that individual accounts don't use more space or I add more individual accounts)?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Possible, but I certainly would not suggest it.
     
  5. dogpaw

    dogpaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's brilliant. I'll configure something off site or another account. I may still decide to use the WHM backup feature as an additional backup system. You can't have too many backups, right?

    I'm assuming that the WHM backup feature does not use any of my allocated bandwidth whereas FTP to off server would eat up my bandwidth.

    Thanks so much for your advice. I appreciate it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page