The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Drive Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hoster22, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    We have a server with 2 drives and we are running of coruse cpanel, we had to redo our #1 drive over with new o/s and cpanel install. When we got done with install checking for the 2nd drive it shows up under DISK USAGE but when you try to do a backup it says no backups under /backup/cpbackup. Well the drive is at /backup, when we got BACKUP DRIVE it says there is no drive there.

    So what do we need to do here too get our back info back I hope this can be done some how?

    Help please.


    ---- Richard ----
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Is the backup drive mounted ? What does df -h report ?
     
  3. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes it is mounted

    /dev/hdb1 74G 33M 70G 1% /backup
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In WHM, do you have backups enabled and in restore mode only ? Make sure. You most likely don't have it enabled at all, its often overlooked. Just have another look at the config and see if its all set right.
     
  5. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No it is enable, this a real strange one I have been using cpanel for years and never had this problem.

    It shows mounted, it shows in Disk Usage but when you try to do a restore it can't find it.

    Note: See the other thing is that it says "Sorry, there are no backups located at /backup/cpbackup!

    The drive is at /backup

    Also when you go try to format it it says there is no drive to be formated.
     
    #5 hoster22, Dec 22, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2004
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Um.. heh.. i overlooked this ( not a laughing matter i know ) but have a look:
    /dev/hdb1 74G 33M 70G 1% /backup

    You're backups are not there my friend :(
     
  7. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any other ideas out there, about this strange issue?

    Richard
     
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You could try searching the web for some sort of data recovery for a formated drive, or talk to a data recovery specialist, but i have a feeling the data is long gone mate. Any chance the datacenter might have taken out the the real backup drive and this might just be a new hard disk ? Might want to check with the server supplier if you didn't do it yourself.

    The drive is mounted.. but its empty.
     
  9. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey bro, do me a quick favor, run this command:

    fdisk -l and paste the output please.
     
  10. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 1 13 104422 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 14 1288 10241437+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda3 1289 2308 8193150 83 Linux
    /dev/hda4 2309 9729 59609182+ f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 2309 2563 2048287 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda6 2564 2818 2048287 83 Linux
    /dev/hda7 2819 2946 1028159+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda8 2947 9729 54484447 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 1 9729 78148192 83 Linux
     
  11. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Not good.. sorry you've had this sort of thing happen at this time of year mate. Definitely get on the phone with the people responsible for the restore, see if they made a mistake with regards to switching out disks. Did you specify to not format the secondary with the restore ( this really is a must ) ? What DC is this with ?
     
  12. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We are with nac it is all right if it did format it we have a nother backup and it is taken care already.

    But I need to solve this issue what is wrong the it not working or showing up in whm bdrive found and can format it because it says it not there.
     
  13. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, there are no backups located at /backup/cpbackup

    The problem is that it is looking at /backup/cpbackup and the drive is at /backup so how do I correct that issue?
     
  14. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    1. There are no backups, so nothing to restore.
    2. cpbackup is a folder created by cpanel's backup for "assurance" sake. Its fine.
    3. make sure you have /backup as the folder set in the backup config in WHM. If you put /backups/cpbackups it will create another cpbackups folder so the backups would be placed in /backup/cpbackups/cpbackups.
     
  15. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well I will check it tommorrow and see whast happens by than.

    Thanks for your info.

    Richard
     
  16. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well guys I just checked all is back to normal, backing up and all showing they way it should.
    I don't no what got into it yesterday.

    Well Happy Hoildays and thanks,

    Richard
     
  17. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Heh you really lost me mate.. I thought you were trying to restore backups ? but apparently you were trying to make backups ? :confused: :D
     
  18. hoster22

    hoster22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    No yesterday after the re-install of the o/s I wanted to re-install the backup from the 2nd drive with the accounts on it. But as you no that did not work out.
    So we had a backup off site which we used.

    So as of today we are back online with the drive.

    I notice from your signing at the bottom of the page you are or are going to do server management is this correct and if so do you have figures yet?

    We are looking around for one.


    I emailed you

    Thanks

    Richard
     
    #18 hoster22, Dec 23, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page