Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backup drives - mounted or not

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Scorpio82, Feb 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Scorpio82

    Scorpio82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    My question relates to having a separate drive for backups.

    My server has 3 drives, 2 x 1TB drives setup in RAID1 for the actual OS and cPanel. Then a 3rd 2TB which I currently have mounted to /backup which performs daily, weekly and monthly incremental backups.

    1. Is it best practice to select cPanel backup to automatically mount/un-mount the drive? Searched wide on this forum and it appears some prefer to leave it mounted, where others say it is best to have cPanel un-mount it in case of primary drive catastrophes, like say running rm -rf / (this is just a very bad example of catastrophe)

    2. Currently, on a CentOS 7 running latest cPanel my /etc/fstab looks like this:

    /dev/sdb1 /backup ext4 defaults 0 0

    I saw an old article which suggested changing this to something like:

    /dev/sda1 /backup ext4 defaults,noexec 0 0

    will binaries actually run on the backup file system?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    This is more of a preference that depends on whether you want extra precaution in the event someone runs a command like the one you mentioned.

    This is answered at:

    Backup Configuration FAQ - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Per that document:

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Scorpio82

    Scorpio82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for the information provided.

    As I understand the information provided, after the backup runs, the backup script should unmount the backup drive, correct?

    I have enabled this on my server (Mount Backup Drive as Needed), it says that it found the mount, but I cannot see that it unmounts the drive after the backup completes:

    -------------------------------------------
    [2017-02-10 20:20:02 +0200] info [backup] Detected “/backup” in /etc/fstab
    [2017-02-10 20:20:02 +0200] info [backup] Mount found: /dev/sdb1 on /backup type ext4 (rw,noexec,relatime,data=ordered)
    [2017-02-10 20:20:02 +0200] info [backup] Setting I/O priority to reduce system load: unknown: prio 0
    [2017-02-10 20:20:02 +0200] info [backup] Hard Linking available on "/backup"
    [2017-02-10 20:20:02 +0200] info [backup] Starting incremental MySQL database backups
    [2017-02-10 20:20:06 +0200] info [backup] Running dir & file backup with target : /backup/incremental/system
    [2017-02-10 20:20:08 +0200] info [backup] System backups will not be uploaded to any remote destinations.
    [2017-02-10 20:20:08 +0200] info [backup] Running account backup with target : /backup/incremental/accounts
    [2017-02-10 20:20:08 +0200] info [backup] Queuing transport reporter
    [2017-02-10 20:20:20 +0200] info [backup] Completed at Fri Feb 10 20:20:20 2017
    [2017-02-10 20:20:20 +0200] info [backup] Final state is Backup::Success (0)
    -------------------------------------------
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice