The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Execution Time

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by KeithRocheck, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. KeithRocheck

    KeithRocheck Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can I change the time the WHM runs the backups ... right now its at a near peak hour and occasionally crashes my server.

    Keith
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Edit the root crontab - "crontab -e" .
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    As sawbuck said, but just in case you don't know, the /scripts/upcp is what you want to change the time for. Backup is part of the cpanel upgrade (upcp). It's the last thing that runs in that job.
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Squirrel for keeping me honest. :D
     
  5. KeithRocheck

    KeithRocheck Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the help.
     
  6. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a little confused about this

    2,58 * * * * /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    0 0 * * * /usr/local/bandmin/ipaddrmap
    48 3 * * * /scripts/upcp
    */15 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/dnsqueue > /dev/null 2>&1
    0 6 * * * /scripts/exim_tidydb > /dev/null 2>&1
    */5 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dcpumon >/dev/null 2>&1


    Thats mine. So you say the line with /scripts/upcp is also the one that does the WHM backups each day? How do I make it do it lets say 3am? I'm not sure what the 48 so please kindly explain.

    Thank you
     
  7. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    48 would be 48 minutes after 3 AM. If the crontab entries are not running at what you think are the proper times, double check the server time setting in WHM taking into account your time zone and the location of the server itself.
     
  8. spun

    spun Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was wondering the same thing. Thanks for the answers. Now I have an additional question....Is there a way to execute the backup process manually, without waiting for the set time?
     
  9. spun

    spun Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    Nevermind.....The search feature is a wonderful thing ;-) I found my answer /scripts/cpbackup

    Thanks anyways..

    Kevin
     
  10. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was reading this thread and checked my cron and it shows :

    1 5 * * * /scripts/upcp
    0 1 * * * /scripts/cpbackup


    But I don't appear to be getting two backups. I looked at the upcp script and it shows :

    foreach $line (@CT) {
    if ($line =~ /\/scripts\/upcp/) {
    $ucp = 1;
    }
    if ($line =~ /\/scripts\/cpbackup/) {
    $bcp = 1;
    }
    }
    if (!$ucp || !$bcp) {
    @CT=grep(!/\/scripts\/upcp/, @CT);
    @CT=grep(!/\/scripts\/cpbackup/, @CT);
    my $rt = int(rand(2.9999999));
    my $hour = int(rand(6));
    if ($rt == 0) {
    $hour = (24-int(rand(4)));
    }
    if ($hour == 24) { $hour = 0; }
    push(@CT,int(rand(60)) . " " . $hour . " * * * /scripts/upcp");
    push(@CT,"0 1 * * * /scripts/cpbackup");
    open(CR,">/scripts/.crontab");
    foreach $line (@CT) {
    print CR "$line\n";
    }
    close(CR);
    system("crontab /scripts/.crontab");
    unlink("/scripts/.crontab");
    }

    Which looks like it is pushing the /scripts/backup into the crontab to run seperately.

    Can anyone explain this?

    thanks
     
  11. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    That is correct, due to request backups now run at a different time than upcp. I believe its in release and up, not sure if it has hit stable yet.
     
  12. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    It has (WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-S15)
     
  13. webrats

    webrats Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well min says run a re 3:20 am and its running right now 9pm
     
Loading...

Share This Page