The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Fails With No Loggin

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Steve Kessler, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. Steve Kessler

    Steve Kessler Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, United State
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I configured my backup to use S3 and there is no evidence that it even ran other than an empty log file at /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup. I checked the cron configuration and it should be running. I have validated the S3 connection and that looks good as well. I am not sure what is failing because the log file is blank.

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Try forcing a generation of backups with the following command:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
    Are the logs populated when forcing the backups to run?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Steve Kessler

    Steve Kessler Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, United State
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The backups work when we force them but are not working otherwise.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Steve Kessler

    Steve Kessler Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, United State
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It said OK for stopping and starting so it looks like it was running. If I check the status now it is running. I will check back if the backups run now.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if the issue persists. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page