The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup is frozen, causing high server load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GoWilkes, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tried to transfer an account to a new server 2 days ago (skipping databases and homedir), but the transfer has not completed and the server load on the old server is at 8.5 ever since.

    Both the management company and I have been trying to get it to stop, unsuccessfully. I don't want to reboot the old server; the whole reason I'm switching over is because cPanel said that there are hard drive errors and a potential failure will be soon, and I'm concerned that if I turn the server off, it might just not come back.

    I did try rebooting the new server, hoping to break the connection, but that had no impact.

    Using the "who" command, the old server shows that the new server has 6 logins to the old server.

    These processes are also showing in WHM's Process Manager:

    cpanellogd - waiting for child to process logs for [myacct]
    cpsrvd - waiting for connections
    cpanellogd - http logs for [myacct]
    /bin/mount /backup/
    /bin/mount /backup/
    /bin/mount /backup/
    [pdflush]
    [pdflush]
    [pdflush]
    [pdflush]
    [pdflush]
    [pdflush]
    [pdflush]
    rm -rf /backup//cpbackup/cpmove/cpmove-[myacct]-split/cpmove-[myacct]
    rm -rf /backup//cpbackup/cpmove/cpmove-[myacct]-split/cpmove-[myacct]
    /bin/mount -o remount,ro /backup/

    I tried killing the last 3 (using "kill -9 [process id]"), but they wouldn't die. I also tried killing the 6 sessions from the new server (using "pkill -9 -t pts/[id]"), but they wouldn't die, either.

    Any suggestions on how to make this attempted transfer stop, before I make the last-ditch effort of rebooting and praying?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest running the following command:

    Code:
    # ps auxf
    Look for the parent process of the processes you are attempting to kill, and then kill the parent process via:

    Code:
    # kill -9 PID
    This should kill the processes running underneath it that you can not kill manually.

    Thank you.
     
  3. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I did try that, and tried killing the logged in users, but they just all came right back. Yesterday, I finally got everything copied over to the new server as a backup, and rebooted the old server, but when it came back up, the processes just kicked in again, and the 6 users logged right back in.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In iptables or your firewall, block the connection (IP address) from the new server to the old server so it cannot connect to form any processes.
     
  5. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That was a darn good thought! But unfortunately, it still didn't kick them out. I'm using CSF, and added the IP under the "Temporary Deny" list, but #who still shows them logged in.

    Another weird thing: #who shows 6 logins from the new server, but #w doesn't show any! #w just shows my SSH login, and refers to it as pts/6.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you try killing the connections on the new server?
     
  7. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How do I do that? Running #who on the new server only shows my connection.

    I actually tried rebooting the new server, but that had no impact. I suspect that the connections are dormant, but still tying up processes.
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't see any possible way if both machines were rebooted for these processes to still be forming. At this point, please submit a ticket to us using WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature. The old machine likely has some type of disk issue if it shows connections from a machine that isn't making them any longer.
     
  9. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm actually canceling this server in about 2 weeks, anyway (due to a possibly failing hard drive). And since this seems to be isolated to me, then it's probably more to do with the hard drive than cPanel, after all. So, don't worry about it, Tristan. Thanks, though!
     
Loading...

Share This Page