The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup issues

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by lazybear79, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. lazybear79

    lazybear79 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to do a full backup and it's taking forever. My site is only taking up 6.71MB and everytime I look at it it says "in progress." I expected it to take a little while but it's been over 24 hours now. Is there something special I'm supposed to do? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. CoreOperations

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    How are you doing the backup? From within WHM or within CPanel?

    If from within WHM, are you backing up to a local disk or to an FTP site?

    If from an FTP site, whats the bandwidth link?

    Cheers
     
  3. lazybear79

    lazybear79 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm using cPanel to do it. I'm saving the file to "Home Directory."
     
  4. CoreOperations

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Unless your server is under a very heavy load it should do it quite quickly, have you tried downloading it to your local machine? This might point you in a little bit better direction.

    Have you configured backups in WHM?
     
  5. lazybear79

    lazybear79 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I configure backups in WHM?
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    WHM is for the server owner. I take it from the post that lazybear79 is a client of a hosting company.

    LazyBear79 - You should also check with your webhoster as to why you are having issues doing the backup as well, as they should be your first point of contact.
     
  7. lazybear79

    lazybear79 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually, I am the host. I've looked through WHM and can't find anything regarding backups. That's why I'm trying to do a backup in cPanel.
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    In WHM, you should have an entire area called Backups, (about the sixth mainsection on the left menu) this is where you configure and restore backups from. The backups are ran as part of the cronjob for upcp which by default I think is 4am.
     
Loading...

Share This Page