The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup keeps disabling the remote location

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by tagteam, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. tagteam

    tagteam Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am using onlinefilefolder.com (Godaddy) as my offsite backup location. However about a week ago it started disabling it and wont write the backup there. If i use a script that I wrote to ftp the files there it works but the automated cpanel backup wont. Is there any log for this or some way to figure out why this is happening.
    Thanks
     
  2. Skamasle

    Skamasle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try to run backup from ssh and then check log whit tail -f,

    New system -> /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
    Legacy -> /script/cpbackup

    Or check old logs , are located on -> /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup

    When I change to new backup system I get same problem.

    Try to set maximum time on WHM under -> Advanced Settings : Maximum destination timeout 50000 in seconds

    Also I set ERRORTHRESHHOLD: 3 to 20 on /var/cpanel/backups/config

    But check logs before make changes.
     
  3. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    You can find backup logs in
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
    
    What is status of onlinefilefolder.com destination in:
    WHM Home >> Backup >> Backup Configuration

    Are you able to successfully add and enable your Godaddy space??
     
  4. tagteam

    tagteam Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply,
    I dont think the issue is with the backup time. the advanced settings is for if there is something taking a long time doing the backup on the server. I think my issue is that GoDaddy is really no that great of a service and it sometimes is slow and so the system thinks it cant connect. I am able to successfully add and enable Godaddy space. Each time it returns that it is disabled I am able to re-enable and verify it.

    This worked fine for about two weeks and then started failing. Is there a way to have it wait a little longer while it tries to connect to the offline server because I think that is what the issue is.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please review the following log file for errors during the FTP transfer:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup_transporter.log
    Check for any issues with the upload of files via FTP.

    Thank you.
     
  6. tagteam

    tagteam Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only thing the log shows is

    [2013-08-11 02:09:49 -0600] info [cpbackup_transporter] cPanel Backup Transporter Queue Daemon is being stopped.
    [2013-08-11 02:13:29 -0600] info [cpbackup_transporter] cPanel Backup Transporter Queue Daemon started.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket so we can take a closer look:

    Submit A Ticket

    You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  8. tagteam

    tagteam Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I posted a ticket with support and they recommended:

    increasing the amount of errors before the transport is deactivated to a larger number. You can do that in this file:

    /var/cpanel/backups/config

    Also, I you should increase the timeout time transport settings; I would bump it up to 300 seconds before it reports an error.

    I did as suggested and my offsite backup is working again.
     
  9. fate12

    fate12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This bug is still driving me crazy, the remote location gets disabled twice a week.
    I hate it that I should edit config files in my shell to get a simple working backup.

    Why on earth did someone decide to disable the remote location if a connection fails?
    To make REALLY sure it will fail all following days?
    Madness.
     
    #9 fate12, Dec 19, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2013
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend opening a support ticket so we can take a closer look and help determine the reason why remote destinations are failing.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page