The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Location

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alphaonline, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. alphaonline

    alphaonline Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What is a good location for backups? Please help. Thanks! I tried to set it to /backup, but it said it didnt work, and /home didnt work either. it said it was a very bad idea, and that it has been disabled to prevent file loss.
     
  2. coffee23

    coffee23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Exact same thing here, Anyone with an idea ?
     
  3. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    you could have created a seperate partition as backup. Currently you can make the backup to any location where there is ample space.
     
  4. alphaonline

    alphaonline Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda2 7.7G 287M 7.1G 4% /
    /dev/hda1 76M 8.0M 65M 11% /boot
    /dev/hda8 84G 42G 38G 53% /home
    none 473M 0 473M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/hda7 1012M 35M 927M 4% /tmp
    /dev/hda6 7.7G 3.5G 3.9G 47% /usr
    /dev/hda5 7.7G 1.5G 5.9G 20% /var

    What do you recommend?
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Create a backup directory in /home then use that. It will warn against putting backups in home, but it works and that's the only option you have without adding a 2nd drive which is highly recommended.
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    err.. Mike; he has almost filled 53% of his /home; and except for the cpapachebuild; the rest of the space will be filled by the users. so to say.. if he makes a backup at /home will he not run into a disk space issue ?
     
  7. alphaonline

    alphaonline Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Space Issue

    I set to /home/backup, and it is working fine now...
    Before I set it to / and ran into a space issue, but that has been fixed. Thanks for your help, but I am still clearning space of non-existent accounts.
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Didn't notice the 53%. :eek:

    That will cause problems if you can't significantly increase the free space. You pretty much have to get a 2nd drive for backups. It's the proper way to go anyway in case the main drive fails.
     
Loading...

Share This Page