The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup mysql`s from root

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by xml, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. xml

    xml Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    i know i will get empty mysql backups for users accounts if i run the backup script from root SSH but i own all the accounts and i want to do run the backup script from root ssh to save time.

    what modifications i need to do to backup all users mysql from root?
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Databases should be backed up

    What script are you using from the shell for backups? Are you using our /scripts/cpbackup --force or /scripts/pkgacct? Either should back up MySQL databases as part of the account backup.

    It is not normal for databases to not be included in the backup archive when you use either cpbackup or pkgacct, so it would be helpful if you can describe exactly which script you are using, and the arguments you are passing the script.
     
  3. xml

    xml Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    hello cPanelJared

    its mentioned here
    http://forums.cpanel.net/514005-post6.html

    i am going to use /scripts/cpbackup --force
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unrelated

    The post from David G. you referred to is about a different situation. In that post, David is referring to using the reseller override in cPanel to create a backup. You are referring to making a backup from the shell. cpbackup and pkgacct will back up databases when executed from the shell as root.
     
  5. xml

    xml Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am really glad to know that

    is there any limitations for the backup shell scripts related to database size?

    in case i want to RESTORE all or some those backups including databases what shell script i should use?
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The size of the databases will make no theoretical difference. Our backup scripts simply use the mysqldump command to create a dump of the databases.

    To restore an account, move the backup file to /root or /home, and use /scripts/restorepkg with the account name as the argument.
     
  7. xml

    xml Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    hello cPanelJared

    how to restore an incremental backup which includes databases? what shell command i can use?

    i tried from WHM to restore but the browser die after couple of hours. so i would prefere to run restore from SSH
     
    #7 xml, Aug 13, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page