Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backup not completed ?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by kernow, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Running the new backup script, were getting emails from cpanel saying "The backup was not able to be completed because timed out waiting for /bin/backup to finish" However the backup is still running and we get the normal email later in the day saying its completed.
    We notice in the root crontab both old and new backup scripts are listed:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    Is this the problem? should one (legacy) be removed?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    you should use either legacy or the new backup system.
    I personally like the new backup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's not the question.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's safe to remove the legacy backup cron job if you no longer use it. However, it's existence should not be an issue if legacy backups are disabled. The cron job will detect that legacy backups are disabled and it will not generate any backup archives.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's what we thought, so is there anything else that could cause that error message?
    Update.
    It maybe the cron job. I believe that /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup is the cron for legacy? but were using the newbackup system. A few days ago we edited the backup cron job from WHM ( we would normally use CLI) to alter the time by 2 hours but we now see it changed the time for the legacy backup not the cron for new /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup so it maybe a bug?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 kernow, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I don't believe the legacy backup script (/scripts/cpbackup) is responsible for this issue if you have them disabled. Do you notice any errors in the backup logs located in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup for the date the warning message was sent out? Also, have you reproduced the issue since then?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    No errors reported today in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
    However, from the CLI I just edited the cron for /scripts/cpbackup to start @ 2am. Now, if we look in WHM cron jobs the backup has changed to 2.am which shouldn't have happened as were using the new backup script which uses /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup and is set for 4am
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #7 kernow, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,197
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup" cron job is currently not available in the "Cron Config" plugin page. There are plans to add this in a future build of cPanel, but there is no specific ETA on that at the moment. In the meantime, the workaround is to edit this cron job manually from the command line using the "crontab -e" command.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the info.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice