The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup not Generating....

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by HostLunar, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. HostLunar

    HostLunar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi .....when i generate a full backup the backup is generating only 13 bytes....??
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The cpbackup logs are placed in the below given location.

    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/

    Please go through the logs and paste the error in the forum, if you have any!
     
  3. HostLunar

    HostLunar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how can i give you the log...
    give me the full instruction...
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please make sure that the backup settings are configured correctly. You can refer the below given Url for that.

    Configure Backup
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello HostLunar,

    Where are you generating the backup? Is this in WHM or cPanel? If cPanel, do you have root access to the machine or this is only a cPanel account user?

    I'm thinking it is likely a cPanel full backup that is being generated, and you probably would want to ask your host if you don't have root access to the server to help with why it isn't properly generating. If you do have root access, then try running a backup in root SSH using:

    Code:
    /scripts/pkgacct username
    Where username is the cPanel username for the account. If that works, then please open a ticket to WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel with us.

    Thanks.
     
  6. HostLunar

    HostLunar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my problem is not solved.....
    i have also many problem in my Virtual private server..
    My VPS is too slow ....when i open cpanel/WHM ....panels are also opening too slow...
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you follow the directions of my last post to try running the backup in root SSH to see the results, then to open a ticket with us?

    Also, how much memory does your VPS have? If you are using 256 to 512MB of RAM, you likely will run into issues running cPanel on the machine.
     
  8. HostLunar

    HostLunar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am using 2 GB Memory...
    I am generating backup using SSH via your method..
    wait few minutes i will tell you.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Just guessing, but it sounds like the backup is not completed being created.
    A 13 byte file is created when you start a backup that you can view on the account, and the load on server may go up during that time.

    How large is the account?

    How long ago was the backup started?
     
Loading...

Share This Page