Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backup of /etc/hosts file

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by idearius, Sep 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. idearius

    idearius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Hello.

    I've set up backups using WHM long ago, with the Backup System Files option selected.

    Today, using the backups, I tried to find an earlier version of the /etc/hosts file to see when it was first changed but couldn't find it. Many other files and subdirectories from /etc are present.

    Is it that I didn't find it? Or that it is not included in the standard backup routine?

    Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. idearius

    idearius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    53
    I see. Thanks. I had the impression I could restore all of the system files from the backups... really don't understand why such a key file is left out.

    Just added a file at /var/cpanel/backups/extras with the full path of the hosts file to see if it's included in the next backup.

    Is there any other way to make truly complete backups of the server, using WHM?
    If not, what alternatives do you recommend?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There are currently no options that allow you to backup the entire filesystem. You'd need to use a third-party provider such as R1Soft for that type of functionality.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. idearius

    idearius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Understood. Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice