The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup options

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by omoriginals, Feb 23, 2005.

  1. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm trying to determine the best backup option for my server.

    I see that whm has 2.

    (1) to the same server
    I don't know if this would do me any good since I have a mirrored drive.

    (2) to a ftp server
    I like the fact that it would be offsite, but since it doesn't allow for incremental backup so it might be some serious bandwidth.

    (3?) offsite secondary server
    Could I set it a second server to do a incremental back nightly.

    If the primary died, I could swap out the boxes?

    What would be the best option?
    I'd love to hear how others are backing up.

    Thanks.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would say that the best option would be to do local full backups, preferrably to a different physical disk on the server and then FTP or rsync over SSH the daily (and weekly if you want) backup files to another server when they're done.
     
  3. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    done.

    would you use cpanel/whm to prepare the daily backups or just have rsync do incrementals?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would have cPanel create the full daily backups and then rsync a copy of the daily backup off-server - at least, that's what I do. I also rsync a copy of the weekly full cPAnel backup off-server too. I don't do incremental backups.
     
  5. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    incremental v. full

    Thank you.

    would you mind telling me why you prefer full v. incremental?
    Thanks.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The incrmentals don't backup everything that you would need to restore your server in the case of full data loss, the full ones (mostly) do from a cPanel perspective.
     
  7. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    timing

    Can we set a back up time?
    Meaning have backups run sometime between midnight and 2am?
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can set the cPanel backup time by changing when the root crontab job runs /scripts/cpbackup.
     
  9. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cron

    Jonathan,

    I know I can setup crons through cpanel, but I don't see that option in whm.

    Is this something that I that I have to ssh to control?
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can do two ways:

    1. Install the addon module WHM > Addon Modules > cronconfig > install it. Once done, refresh the browser and scroll down to the bottom left and click on WHM > Add-ons > Configure cPanel Cron Times

    2. Login to root SSH and type in:

    crontab -e

    This will throw you into the (by default) pico editor for you to modify the root crontab - be careful and read up on how to modify crontabs on the web if you're unsure.
     
  11. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    1am

    Jonathan,

    Your help has be huge. Thank you.

    The spam/virus filter that you offer on your web site looks interesting.
    I will have to take a closer look

    backup/

    I create a directory named backup

    I then clicked enable > save

    It said
    /backup is not a directory..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..
    /backup does not exist..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..

    Backup Configuration Saved!

    I can see backup/ at the same level as /public_html & .whmtheme.

    Should I have created it elsewhere?

    Thanks.
     
    #11 omoriginals, Mar 16, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2005
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes, from root SSH do:

    mkdir /backup

    Then try enabling it again. Do note that this will create the backup directory on the / partition - you need to be sure that there is enough space on that partition to hold the backups.
     
  13. omoriginals

    omoriginals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /backup does not exist..

    It keeps telling me that backup (the directory) doesn't exist.

    When I go to the terminal (command line) I can see the directory.

    /backup is not a directory..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..
    /backup does not exist..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..

    Backup Configuration Saved!

    Do I need a different path?
    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page