The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup partition only mounted with readonly

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CoolMike, Jun 6, 2005.

  1. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    I have on 4 servers the problem, that the backup partition is mounted as read only. This happend a few days ago and today I saw the error message from the backup script:

    In the mtab file I found the entry:

    /dev/sda2 /backup ext3 ro 0 0

    In the fstab file it looks like this:

    LABEL=/backup /backup ext3 defaults 1 2

    Is this a new feature of cpanel or do I have a disk problem?

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  2. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    This shows that your partition mounted as readonly.
    --------------------------------------
    /dev/sda2 /backup ext3 ro 0 0
    --------------------------------------
    first unmount the partition and remount it.
    This command will help you

    ------------------------------------------
    mount -w -o remount /backup
    ------------------------------------------

    May be it will help you to solve this issue.

    Let me know the status.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It usually means that you have a bad disk. You should check /var/log/dmesg or search /var/log/messages for kernel errors as Linux will remount a volume readon-only on boot if it finds serious file system problems.
     
  4. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    Thanks for your answers. I can not belive that this is a disk problem, because it start a few days ago on 4 servers at the same time. I will try to unmount...

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  5. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After I entered "mount -w -o remount /backup" it's writable again. I hope it's really not a harddisk problem.

    Michael
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you trawl through either /var/lof/dmesg or /var/log/messages from the last reboot it ought to tell you why it mounted the disk RO.
     
  7. Radheya

    Radheya Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had the same error. and Chirpy was absolutely right.. My /dev/sda1 (backup) is almost dead. And the backup inside the disk is very very old

    I had to replace ir and force a full backup
     
Loading...

Share This Page