Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Backup problem and manual backup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by DjordjeB, May 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. DjordjeB

    DjordjeB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, i have problem with backups.
    1. question:
    whm (remote ftp) cant backup two accounts. there is problems like
    Code:
    /home/user/public_html/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/image.jpg: Cannot write file to archive: Broken pipe at /scripts/pkgacct line 1501.
    [2017-05-22 12:45:24 +0200] b_find(): /home/cpmove-user/htaccess/_home_user_public_html_.htaccess: Broken pipe
    [2017-05-22 12:45:24 +0200] b_find(): /home/cpmove-user/htaccess/_home_user_public_html_.htaccess: Broken pipe[2017-05-22 12:45:24 +0200]
    i check image and htaccess file, there is normal picture and default wordpress htaccess?
    if i delete those files backup work normal (this is not solutions because every backup has similar problem (different accounts))


    2. question:
    if i /scripts/pkgacct $user where is backup saved? local or remote ftp?
    2.1 if is local is there any command to run backup for specific user to run remote backup as whm?
    2.2. where on local if backup on local?
    2.3. if is remote ftp because of different date/time of file then the whole backup weekend and monthly. Will whm in another backup cycle next week remove that file (manually backup file) and replace with new one?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Check to make sure permissions and owner are correct on these files.

    The docs are your friend:
    The pkgacct Script - Documentation - cPanel Documentation
    You can specify the destination.
     
  3. DjordjeB

    DjordjeB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. permission and owner: 644 and owner is account regulary

    2. can you give me example of command for destination?
    "/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/pkgacct --backup user root@ftpserver.tld:password"?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    1. Do you notice any output to /var/log/dmesg or /var/log/messages when you encounter the "Broken Pipe" error message? This can sometimes stem from a corrupted file system or issues with the hard drive.

    2. It's not possible to manually backup accounts to a remote destination using the pkgacct script. You'd need to generate the backup locally, and then manually move it to the remote destination using a utility such as rsync or scp.

    Thank you.
     
  5. DjordjeB

    DjordjeB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. /var/log/dmesg i don't know what i need to read (beyond my knowledge), but in var/log/messages there is no any error or other message for update
    2. that is ok, but when i update to remote ftp server in next round of update, will cpanel remove that manual backup and replace with new one?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you'd like us to take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    You'll likely need to access the remote system and remove whichever backup files you upload manually before switching to the supported method.

    Thank you.
     
  7. DjordjeB

    DjordjeB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem solved. After i contact support /etc/security/limits.conf was a problem. CPU time.
    Remove any limit and backup works ok.

    When WHM start backup it starts under user (not like root or cpanel or whatever) and limits.conf blocking it.

    Thank you.
     
    Infopro likes this.
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for updating your thread.
     
Loading...

Share This Page