Backup question, what means "Transfer System Backups to Destination"

postcd

Well-Known Member
Oct 22, 2010
717
19
68
Hello,

in backup configuration, i select Additional destination to be FTP or FTPs and there is a tickbox:

Transfer System Backups to Destination


When checked, the system will transfer system backups to the additional destination.


Warning: System Backups contains sensitive security details and should not be transferred over non-encrypted methods.
On the readme page i still cant see any explanation that i understand
Backup Configuration - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

Is it meant to "move" instead of "transfer" or when this option is not ticked, it means this Additional destination is deactivated (not applied during backup)?
 

postcd

Well-Known Member
Oct 22, 2010
717
19
68
Please can You reply also other part of the question i asked?
> when this option is not ticked, it means this Additional destination (FTP/FTPs) is deactivated (not applied during backup)?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,909
2,227
463
> when this option is not ticked, it means this Additional destination (FTP/FTPs) is deactivated (not applied during backup)?
Hi,

Deselecting "Transfer System Backups to Destination" will not deactivate the remote destination itself, but instead, it prevents the cPanel backup script from sending certain server and cPanel configuration files to the remote destination. Often times, administrators want to preserve these configuration files in-case the entire server is inaccessible or broken, as it can make the task of provisioning a new server with the same configuration a little easier.

Does this help explain the feature a little better?

Thank you.
 

postcd

Well-Known Member
Oct 22, 2010
717
19
68
Does this help explain the feature a little better?
Yes, i understand now. This feature is about system files not about cpanel accounts files. I somehow ignored the word "system". Thank you for always helping answer.