Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backup restoration causing high load averages?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by RicardoFC, Nov 12, 2017.

  1. RicardoFC

    RicardoFC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    My load averages are always something like 3.02 4.23 3.89, however once I restore a site it goes to 30.04 29.93 25.78, as site is large server load average is quite high during a lot of time, is there a way to limit backup restoration to use this much CPU?
     
  2. Suede Y

    Suede Y Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey there Ricardo,

    You may be able to do it using CPU watch through SSH like this:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/cpuwatch 4 /scripts/restorepkg username

    This should have the CPU watch keep an eye on the process and pause it when the load goes over 4 and if it hits that load it pauses the process until the load is under that specific number again. For your server you may want to do a higher number but that should be a good way for that.
     
  3. RicardoFC

    RicardoFC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Tried, still using that amount of CPU, if the server starts unzipping files it stops the transference process but it keeps unzipping, once it reaches below 4 it justs says the restoration is done :(
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,726
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look and verify if it's mostly related to your server's hardware, or if there's anything in the restoration process that's leading to the increased load?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Suede Y

    Suede Y Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I’m sorry to hear that. I did see that Michael recommended to make a ticket. Can you update the thread when you can to see what happened? I’m pretty curious on the outcome of the ticket.
     
  6. yasir-khan

    yasir-khan Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have opened five Oracle service requests for multiple symptoms.would hang, the agent would hang, backup jobs would hang,

    Great Thinking your feedback is awesome
     
    #6 yasir-khan, Nov 22, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2017
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,726
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Feel free to post the support ticket number here should you decide to open a ticket and we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Bidi

    Bidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Romania, Transilvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    I got the same problem, is there a way to do the limit as default ?
    When i restore account it dose high load, even when i restore it from cpmove file (WHM), even when some customer restore hes website when i was using jetbackup (we uninstaled because the server was getting crazy) high load 30 40 % and usualy the load is 2, 3

    Thank you
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,726
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Bidi,

    I encourage you to open a feature request if you'd like to see an option that allows you to configure a default cpuwatch value when using the Restorepkg script:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Note that generally a backup restoration shouldn't lead to an excessive server load. You may want to look into upgrading your server hardware or checking to ensure there are no hardware issues with your disk.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. rarod

    rarod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I opened a ticket to JetBackup about this restore issue. They answer:

    So no luck.
     
  11. JetAppsClark

    JetAppsClark Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    California
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello rarod,

    Can you please update us if you were able to make some progress with this issue?
    At a glance it looks like an IO issue, usually caused when backup folder and data folder are on the same mount, or when the server is over crowded with huge IOwait. If you're still encountering these issues, please let us know via our Helpdesk so our support techs can assist you!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  12. rarod

    rarod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can add some details about this: I have high IO during restores, in theory JetBackup has options to use CloudLinux LVE for limit IO. But this is not working in restores because some restore processess run with root user instead of regular user.

    Backup destination is a remote server.

    I already have opened ticket: #433207. This was closed with:
     
  13. elialum

    elialum Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Rarod,

    Can you tell if it's a MySQL issue, ?

    Thanks,
    Eli.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. rarod

    rarod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I do not think so, my MySQL data directory is in SSD disks (so it is difficult to have IO problems). The problem is with user files, they are stored in HDDs.

    Can you take a look at JetBackup ticket #433207? There you can see that some processess are not using LVE limits.
     
    #14 rarod, Apr 24, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2018
  15. sys_alex

    sys_alex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain, Galicia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I agree with this. I've faced similar problems when restoring accounts using Jetbackup. If the account have a large number of files the process can get a spike in cpu load and high io wait. Adding ionice, renice or lve don't seem to work at all
     
    rarod likes this.
  16. elialum

    elialum Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    I asked because you mentioned you opened a ticket with Oracle, so it made sense that it's a MySQL issue.
    Does your IOwait usually high ? Can you post some averages ?

    As for the ticket you have with us (#433207), can you re-open it and grant me access to the server with permission to restore an account and test it ?
    If so, please provide as much information as possible (test account name), and a link to this thread.

    Thanks :)

    Eli.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. rarod

    rarod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This was not me.

    Here you can see clearly the restore:

    i.imgur.com/El8nJVa.png

    I will do it right now

    Thank you.
     
    #17 rarod, May 10, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2018
  18. rarod

    rarod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    JetBackup tested the restore issue in one of my servers. The answer:

    I will wait for 3.2 and test if the issue is fixed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice