The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Restore (HUGE problem)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mlin, Nov 11, 2003.

  1. mlin

    mlin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When a user restores a backup, which directory on the server does CPanel by default upload the backup file to?

    I am using a CPanel account with a 100MB quota. Last week, I tried to upload a 59MB backup file, but during the upload my connection was cut off. When I returned, part of the file (49.94MB) was uploaded, and the 49.94MB went into my disk usage quota so that I had 50.06MB left.

    However, when I go into the Disk Usage Viewer, the 49.94MB is not be found anywhere, yet it is still reflected in my "consumed disk space" number. I am guessing that the incomplete file is uploaded to a folder which I do not have access to but counts as part of my account.

    How can I get rid of it?

    Even the admins still cannot figure out how to resolve this problem.

    thanks.
     
  2. navmonkey

    navmonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    check whether the partial file is located in the trash bin, if so clear it.

    Also ask your admin to run /scripts/fixquotas
     
  3. mlin

    mlin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I access the trash bin? Which folder is it?

    I will ask my admin to run /fixquotas, thanks.
     
  4. navmonkey

    navmonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Go to the file manager in cpanel and you should see a trash bin icon somewhere on the right, check whether there is anything look familiar in there. If so, TERMINATE them. :D
     
  5. mlin

    mlin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope, didn't work. I have requested one of my admins to run the fixquotas script though; I'll wait for him to get back to me on that.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Backups are uploaded to the Account Root dir. Access is by an FTP program or File Mgr.
     
  7. mlin

    mlin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was not able to find the file in any directory using FTP or File Manager.

    Therefore, this tells me that
    1) the quota is wrong and needs to be fixed, OR
    2) the backups are uploaded to a dir which only the admin has access to

    My webhost is moving servers, so I will remind them once the move is complete. Thanks for the help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page