The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backup restore in cpanel

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by mahdi1, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. mahdi1

    mahdi1 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i remember cpanel in ports 2082 & 2083 has a restore command that they can restore a backup on the site no need to upload or download anything.

    i don't see it in the latest cpanel there is only backup restore using upload.

    if it's there how can i enable it??

    if it's not.. why you remove it? and how can i have it back?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you referring to the restore functionality in WHM? Or was this in the cPanel interface itself?
     
  3. wineo

    wineo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    There used to be a import and restore function in the WHM where one could put in the site details of a site on a different server and WHM would grab the site and set it up with all the emails, databases and everything else. Has it been removed from the latest versions?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will find that functionality in the WHM interface's Transfers section. This is listed as "Copy an account from another server with account password." However, using the "Copy an account from another server" and supplying root login credentials is typically a much more reliable method for doing this if you have root credentials to the other server.
     
  5. wineo

    wineo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Sorry to highjack this thread...

    I can't see the option "Copy an account from another server with account password." Maybe I have a few functions missing on this version...
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you logging in as a reseller or as user root?
     
  7. wineo

    wineo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Hmm, I would say as reseller. Do the reseller logins not show this option?

    We are battling to migrate cPanel accounts from one server to our new server, using the backup and restore functions in cPanel. The full backup doesn't always work correctly...

    but I think I should start a new thread for my questions... :)
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Account transfers and restoring Full Web Site Backups can only be done by user root or a root-level reseller. Most resellers will not see these options.
     
Loading...

Share This Page