The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Running for 70 hours?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by thomamon, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. thomamon

    thomamon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It seems as if there is a problem with backing up,

    Pkgacct - backupto av: 3 - has been running for over 70 hours now.

    I no longer receive e-mails telling me my backups are complete either.
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How large is the account?

    Are you backing up to a local disk or NFS?

    If you are doing compressed backups over an internet NFS mount they can take awhile.

    You may try going uncompressed, that generally helps a lot. you may not get emails saying they are done because they may not finish that often.
     
  3. thomamon

    thomamon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It was a local disk, but I found the error I believe if anyone else has the same problem. This link has helped a ton:

    CPUWATCH « cpanelshenanigans.com
     
  4. thomamon

    thomamon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is happening again. The server CPU Load was very low after doing what I post above. This morning, its up again, the backup from last night is still running.

    Backup never finished last night, CPU Load is getting higher and pkgacct is still going.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may want to let our technical analysts assist you with diagnosing this high CPU usage: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  6. thomamon

    thomamon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have did the above again, and the CPU usage is normal again. That will be until the backup process runs again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page