The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup S3 - everything correct but no backups...

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by caitanya, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. caitanya

    caitanya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I've set up Amazon S3 with all the needed informations - it is validated and on the old server it works, but on the new server the bucket at amazon is empty. Both are WHM 11.42.1 (build 18) on centos 6.5

    Old server saves in buchet: serverch (here the backup appears normaly)
    New server saves in bucket: serverde (here no backups are saved - the bucket serverde is empty message)

    I've checked the following:

    > service crond status
    crond (PID 1667) is running ... (in german - wird ausgeführt ...)

    > crontab -l
    0 6 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/exim_tidydb > /dev/null 2>&1
    30 5 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/optimize_eximstats > /dev/null 2>&1

    and the > cat /var/log/cron | grep root I get:
    ...
    Aug 11 02:00:01 myserverli CROND[18311]: (root) CMD (/usr/lib64/sa/sa1 1 1)
    Aug 11 02:01:01 myserverli CROND[18608]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
    ...

    So it looks like crond is working...

    Also the /backup folder on the root is empty and since the option "keep backups after transfer" is enabled i guess there is a problem with a backup itself settings.

    Backup User Selection: the account is selected "Backup" as well as "Legacy".

    Any ideas why backup is not beeing generated?

    Can I test it manualy so that i can generate the backup only in the /backup folder - is there a ssh for creating backup immidiately...

    Thank you
    Marko
     
  2. caitanya

    caitanya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think I've found the problem - I ran: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force

    An then i've checked the log files and the message was: waiting for the load to come down

    I checked the load and it was in overload. Now on monday we'll move the HDDs on a new server so i hope it's gonna be ok.

    Does somebody knows what has to be the load for the backup to function?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    This is configurable under the "Stats and Logs" tab in:

    "WHM >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings"

    The name of the option is called "Extra CPUs for server load". If the server load goes above this threshold, then services such as backups will stop running until the load goes back down. The description of this option is as follows:

    The load average above the number of CPUs at which cpuwatch, cpanellogd, backups, and CPU stats consider the system to be in a critical load state. For example, a server with 4 physical CPUs and a value of 2 in this field will be considered “critical” in these cases once the load reaches 6.


    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page