The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup script prob

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by indiboi, Dec 25, 2002.

  1. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Backstory: New server, moved over some accounts, backups processed. I moved over some more accounts, went to check to see if backups were being processed... they weren't. As I understand upcp does the backup processing, thus comparing the timestamp on the backups generated on the 24th and the crontab, they start around 3:10am on this server.

    3:10am rolls around, I get the upcp email, no mention of backups. I check the /backup drive and none of the accounts, both previously existing and new on the 24th, had been backed up.

    I checked tweak settings and everything is pretty much default. Server load average has been pretty much below .10 the entire time, and backups are configured to run as follows:

    BACKUPACCTS yes
    BACKUPDIR /backup
    BACKUPENABLE yes
    BACKUPFILES yes
    BACKUPINC no
    BACKUPINT daily
    BACKUPMOUNT no
    BACKUPCHECK yes
    BACKUP2 yes

    Everything seems to point to the backups being setup to process, but it just isn't happening.

    I have updates configured as follows:
    CPANEL=manual-release
    RPMUP=manual
    SYSUP=manual

    Current build is 5.3.0-R107, but occured with R-100 too. I edited the crontab to adjust the time to get upcp to run again and still nothing.

    What's the deal here?
     
  2. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    backup processing kills services

    I guess it just took the 25th off because it started again on the 26th...

    Now the big problem is that it seems the last two mornings the backup script has locked up and brought down all services in the process, requiring hard reboots. Has anyone else had this happen?

    I had been using a custom backup script until I switched servers and thought I would give CPanel's backup script a try, but it seems highly unreliable and prone to causing really big problems... *sigh*
     
  3. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No, there aren't any sites over 2GB. The script provided by one of my server providers has always worked fine, but this CPanel backup has locked up the server mid-backup the last two days.
     
Loading...

Share This Page