The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Solutions - Integrated into Cpanel?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by MACscr, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. MACscr

    MACscr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am looking for a listing of remote backup solutions that integrate into cpanel so that users can restore their own files. The only solution i know of so far is r1soft and they are having some bugs with the client area right now. I would prefer a solution that backs up on block level, but please list any solutions in general that you know of.

    - R1soft CDP
     
  2. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    R1soft

    We utilize R1soft ourselves - awesome software...
    the only issue I have with it @ present is - clients cannot restore their own mysql databases...

    :-( This i think is due to where they are located and such /var/lib/ext...
    Linbox is a great solution for a small host - 1 box or so...

    but with the number we have - R1soft is the way to go.

    great service / support / documentation is decent...

    :eek:
     
  3. Mario-cPanel

    Mario-cPanel Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hostmedic appreciate the feedback. We clearly understand the need for your clients to be able to backup their own db's and hopefully we will roll-out this really soon.
     
  4. MACscr

    MACscr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I sure hope so. I find it kind of sad that you have already announced a cpanel partnership, yet the integration with cpanel is really "half ass" if you ask me. I love r1soft, but i find this lack of basic support to be frustrating.
     
  5. Mario-cPanel

    Mario-cPanel Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Again appreciate the feedback/"intro to the bus" :) hence the partnership to help us work more closely in line with the needs of all of you.
     
  6. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    Hi,

    Any update on this possible integration that would include the databases of each users?

    We are looking for a solution to backup from about 400 to 500 websites on each servers we have and the current cPanel backup solution is taking too much cpu even if we are having Dual Xeon 2.8HT.

    We are using the rsync but again, it doesn't give the possibility to the cpanel user to download or restore a daily or weekly backup.

    Regards,
     
  7. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    databases are backed up

    Greetings

    Just a quick note.

    The databases are backed up - in fact the back up is really nice -
    And the restoration of the databases is quite simple.

    The issue is that the client cannot do the database portion themselves.
    They need you - their provider to do that portion.

    :-(


    If you are having such a high load issue however - R1 is a great solution.
    thats an understatement...
     
  8. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hostmedic, thanks for your information regarding the R1soft backup solution, I am considering their product, it seems it can not only backup your servers but also you can provide a backup service to your other clients, say if u got some clients not hosting on your server, they got their own server, and u can provide them a remotely backup solution so they can backup their data to your CDP server, is that correct ? I know I should go to r1soft for that answer, just want to know your option.
     
  9. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes

    yes you can provide this to your own clients and to others.
    I would suggest checking their bandwidth however first.

    I gotta tell you - I love what R1 has done for our organization...
    Call me a Fan.

    Now If I could just get a Shirt from them that actually fits me.

    They sent me one w/ my order - but it was so small...
    I am a 3x guy :-(

    maybe @ cpanel conference ?
     
  10. tolra

    tolra Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use R1Soft and wish I'd started using it sooner, we even have it backing up across continents.

    However you do need to be aware that apart from the minor issue that users can't restore their own MySQL databases R1Soft also does not store information in a form suitable to do an account level restore.
     
  11. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Where can I get more info about R1Soft?
     
  12. tolra

    tolra Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  13. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I wonder if somoene who has used this product might offer a brief overvew of what it is all about ?

    From what I gather, it continually backs up your servers hard drives into snap shots that you can restore from. I'm not too fussed about having cpanel integration. Restore requests dont come in very often.

    My main requirement is being able to quickly replace and restore a whole drive in the event of drive failure.

    If we were to use this solution I'd want to backup to raid arrays connecting 8 or 16 servers to each array. Do you think thats possible ?

    Would I need to use NAS? or just use a server with a built in array controller as the CDP server? I guess we would need to set up a LAN for this using the secondary ethernet on each server and backup over that?

    Are any of you doing this on a large scale? if so, what hardware are you using? it has to be cost effective, can anyone recommend a hardware solution for this that isnt too costly ?
     
  14. tolra

    tolra Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There's 2 parts to R1Soft the CDP server and the agents.

    The agent software runs on the servers to be backed up, it monitors the blocks that change on the disk and then transfers those changes to the CDP Server.

    The CDP server runs on a separate server and collects the data from the agents, stores it to the servers disks and provides a web interface from which you can restore.

    The servers (agents) being backed up have no idea of the storage system being used on the CDP server. So no you don't need a NAS as the R1Soft agent software takes care of moving the data to the CDP server.

    Hope that helps.
     
  15. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for your reply.

    Are you doing this over a local network ? How many servers are you backing up to one CDP server ?
     
  16. tolra

    tolra Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    At the moment for the US we're pulling the data over the public ports between 2 data centres in Texas and for the UK we're pulling the data over the public ports within the same data centre (no option for private network). Then once a day we move a set of backup data between the CDP servers, UK <-> US.

    The number of servers you can backup would appear to be limited by the amount of changing data, the frequency of backup and the available bandwidth.

    In an ideal world I'd have all the servers connected to their respective CDP servers via a private network.
     
  17. mohdyasar

    mohdyasar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, R1Soft appears to be great, I have a few questions:

    1. Will I be able to restore to another server
    2. What I want to do is, I will backup across multiple datacenters and I want to restore to a different hardware machine, is that possible.
     
  18. tolra

    tolra Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'd always ask these questions direct of a vendor, but on the CDP server when you go to restore a file you have the option of a different server and/or location.
     
  19. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Whats the recommended way to set up the backup server?

    I was thinking I'd just buy a 3U chassis with 16 bays and a good array controller - but whats the best way to partition it ?

    I've looked through R1soft's documentation but I cant find any recommended configuration info.
     
Loading...

Share This Page