Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup to a different server

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by arjanvr, Sep 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If i rent another dedicated server and i make a vps there, can i backup my vps from my primary server there and restore it from one click or do i need to copy over files back and forth? With or without whm on that second server.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You could install cPanel on the remote server and store backups there by using a destination type such as SFTP on the source server:

    Backup Configuration - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Then, if you ever need to restore the accounts to the remote server, you'd use the steps documented at:

    Backup Restoration - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Once you do that, you'd complete steps "4" and "5" from the following document:

    How to Move All cPanel Accounts from One Server to Another - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
  3. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you. But what if i install an extra vps. Can i simply set the backup path to a specific map on that server and just use it to store backups from my 5 other vps servers that do have cpanel on them? I can manually copy them back if they are needed for restore so without cpanel on that server that is storing the backups? That would be great as then i can store all the backups in 1 spot and can still copy them quickly back..
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, that's possible. You'd just need to ensure a service such as FTP or SFTP is setup on the remote destination so the cPanel servers can transport the backups.

    Thank you.
     
  5. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have it setup in a test enviroment and it seems to work fine except for one thing which i find a bit odd.. it does transfer the files as I setup but on the vps where the backup is created it leaves the folder with the date and the folder accounts. Why does it not remove those?
     
  6. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    May be some authentication/authorization problem that is not letting it remove.. or may be some files are still in it..

    You can check a plugin called cpRemote where you can backup the data to a remote VPS and then restore it also with a single click..
     
  7. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Folders are empty so i will look into the permissions if there is something. I think it's because i had to create a extra user to transport it over sftp. Will also login to that plugin thanks!
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have "Retain backups in the default backup directory." enabled in "WHM >> Backup Configuration"?

    Thank you.
     
  9. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No i did not have that enabled but to be clear, the accounts folder is empty, it just fails to remove that folder and because of that also the folder with the backup date.. so it's a bit strange.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The existence of that directory is useful should you need to restore an account from a remote backup destination. You can simply move the backup from the remote destination to the matching path on the local server for restoration.

    Thank you.
     
  11. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So it leaves them there on purpose then
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is by design as it will match your retention settings. For instance, I setup daily backups to a remote destination with a retention setting of "1" and with backups configured to not remain on the local server. I then created the following directories:

    /backup/2017-09-20
    /backup/2017-09-21
    /backup/2017-09-22


    Upon the next backup generation, it removed the "/backup/2017-09-20" and "/backup/2017-09-21" directories.

    Thank you.
     
  13. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @24x7server Wow i actually wanted to use cpremote as you recommended so i wanted to install a trial to first test and then purchase for other 6 or 7 vm's but one minute in chat with them and i never want to deal with this company again.. Asked if they can change an IP for the trial so i can try it on a different vps while the trial was unused and all you get is no, it's in the SLA. When you tell them it's not very helpfull they just reply with thank you for using. Uninstalling.
     
  14. elialum

    elialum Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    I wouldn't recommend using a cPanel server as a backup destination.

    Mixing backups and live sites will simply cause extra IO, and if it's only for backups (storage server) - then cPanel is definitely an overkill here.

    Eli
     
  15. arjanvr

    arjanvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It want the backups from my live vps'ses and onto an empty vps where there are no sites or just 1. If i put cpanel on there is undecided. But backups are first created on the vps where the sites are so i will have to deal with io anyways?

    Or maybe transfer it to my local nas but i prefer to use wget to transport it back.
     
  16. elialum

    elialum Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    I think that a backup server should be used only for a backup server, and a web server should be used as a web server.
    Besides IO, there are more aspects to consider - first and most important one is security. A compromised web server that contains backups from 5 other servers, could put in risk all of your 5 web-servers data. A dedicated backup server could be easily more secured with lan-only access or ip restrictions.

    Just my opinion here...

    Eli.
     
Loading...

Share This Page