The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup to second drive

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AlexF, Nov 26, 2003.

  1. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Guys (and gals),

    I would like to know how to setup WHM's backup feature to work with a second hard drive. My second hard drive's name is as1.

    Thanks,
    Alex
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Configure the backup as you normally would and set the destination as /as1
     
  3. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I received the following error:

    /ad1 is not a directory..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..
    /ad1 does not exist..
    Backup has been disabled to prevent file loss..
    Backup Configuration Saved!

    (I know that I previously entered it as as1, but ad1 is correct) I've also tried it adding a directory of backup, but no go. Any other suggestions?
     
    #3 AlexF, Nov 26, 2003
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2003
  4. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure the drive is mounted and points to the right directory and choose in the backup setup to mount and unmount the drive for the backups!
     
  5. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As a side note, since you mentioned it, what is the purpose of mounting and then unmounting the drive? Why not just leave it mounted all the time?
     
  6. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, not leaving it mounted could have the advantage that if something goes really wrong with the system the unmounted volume is not affected and safe. Of course someone could manually mount it before doing damage but in the case of untargeted problems an unmounted filesystem is normally safer from damage.
     
  7. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the info. I've been pulling my head trying to figure out how to properly format the HD (using FreeBSD v5.1) then mounting it, but I'm stumped, can't get the correct syntax..

    Help?!?
     
  8. Globodata

    Globodata Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    Hi there.

    I was reading your messages and maybe you could help me.

    I´ve configured the backup to another HD. I´d like to know if I have to schedulle a specific time or if it´s done at a system time.

    I´d also like to know if I can do 2 backups ... for instance, monday/wednesday/friday would be backup at /hdb/bk1 and sunday/tuesday/thursday/saturday would be backup at /hdb/bk2 ... is it posible ?

    I was wondering of that because if you hve a problem in an account you would backup this error.. so , if you have two backups you could choose for the better...

    Thanks,

    Dawersonn
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Backups are done automatically at a preset time. I do not know how to change it, but on my system it is at 0400.

    There is no way via WHM to do the multiple backups like you say. However, if you do daily, weekly and monthly, there will be three backups made. If the daily is bad, you can revert it to the last weekly, and if that is bad, you can revert it to the last monthly.
     
  10. Globodata

    Globodata Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    Yes, it is what I was looking for...

    Thanks for you help.

    Dawersonn
     
  11. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Anyone here know the command to manually mount the backup drive when it is setup for off-mount backups?
     
Loading...

Share This Page