The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup Validation times out in 2 of 3 Servers

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by caylean, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. caylean

    caylean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello together,
    I had to reinstall my Backup VPS Server after HDD crashes with my Backup Server Hoster.

    Everything done as before, properbly even better.. first time vs second time CentOS Console handling ;)

    I added all login credentials and tried to validate... 1 Server validated without problem, but two server are always timing out.
    Checked folders via sFTP and everything is there where it should be.
    Checked Settings in Backup Section of WHM, they do look all exactly the same... but I do always get with two servers a timeout whenever I try to validate, no matter what i try.

    Any Ideas or suggestions how that could happen?

    Or should I just turn to daily Backup and check if tomorrow my folders get filled?

    Kindly
    Caylean/Sascha
     
  2. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Have you verified your back up logs on your server? You can find the logs @

    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/xxxxxxxxxx.log

    Or else you can force the back up by using the command,

    /scripts/cpbackup --force
     
  3. caylean

    caylean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wiredtree Support helped me out as it looks
    Will the forced Backup also transfer the files to the new destination? Kind Regards
     
  4. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, the forced back up transfer the files to your configured backup destination.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    670
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I am happy to see you were able to address the issue. Note that the other poster's advice about forcing a backup is referencing the legacy backup system. You must use the updated command to force a backup on the new backup system:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
    Thank you.
     
  6. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear cPanelMichael,

    Thanks for your valuable feedback & note.
     
Loading...

Share This Page