Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backup when running out of disk space

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by studiowizjo, May 12, 2014.

  1. studiowizjo

    studiowizjo Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have VPS when 70 of 80 GB is occupied. Now what i have to do is to migrate all my server data to another server. My question is how to do it the best way because using the cpanel full backup creator (frontend/x3/backup/wizard-backup.html) to do the remote ftp copy seems to create at first backup on our server (when there is not enoug space). There is no way to enlarge disk space because our provider close his business and dont respond to us.

    Is there any way to create full backup which we can import on new server fresh cpanel installation or we have to move all data manually to new FTP, import all databases, set e-mail accounts and so on... ?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,952
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    What type of content is most of the disk space utilized for? If it's only a few large files, then you could exclude those files from the backup and then manually transfer them to the destination server via SCP or SFTP.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,772
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just use Copy Multiple Accounts/Packages From Another Server & skip /home directory

    and rsync the home directory after the transfer is finished
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. studiowizjo

    studiowizjo Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mostly there are about 300 websites and not single bigger files. Do you mean to copy some of the biggesti websites manually, then remove it from first server and thanks to that gain free disk space to do the full server backup of the rest? The problem is that i should move about half of server manually which means creating 150 databases, export, import them and so on...

    Where in cpanel is such option to "Copy Multiple Accounts/Packages From Another Server & skip /home directory"?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,952
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's located here:

    "WHM Home » Transfers » Copy Multiple Accounts/Packages From Another Server"

    Or, if you are using cPanel version 11.44 (11.43 is the development build):

    "WHM Home » Transfers » Transfer Tool"

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. studiowizjo

    studiowizjo Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,952
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You will need to access Web Host Manager, not cPanel, on the destination server.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. studiowizjo

    studiowizjo Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I dont have access to it. Any other posibilities?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,400
    Likes Received:
    1,952
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You mentioned that you have a VPS in your original post. To clarify, do you have root access to the source server, or are you only a reseller?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice