Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backupfiles are not compressed?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CoolMike, Dec 22, 2006.

  1. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Hi

    I just realized that all my backupfiles which where created by cpbackup where not compressed at tall. They have exactly the same size like the account.

    Where can I change the compression level for this backupfiles? Because my backup partition is quite full already.

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Same place you setup thew backups to begin with. WHM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Sorry, but under "Configure Backup" in WHM I can not see any compression level. I only saw that Incremental backup is not compressing the backup, but I'm not using incremental backups...
     
  4. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    WHM > Backup > configure backup

    disable incremental backup.
     
  5. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    I'm not using the incremental backup...
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If incremental is disabled but the files are not being compressed, my guess is you don't have enough space for your system to work.
    You might want to clear out old backups and se if that solves it for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    That's also not the case. On some servers there is more then enough space, but the backup files are still not compressed.

    Michael
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice