The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backups and Remote FTP

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by d3ag0s, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. d3ag0s

    d3ag0s Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am not sure if this has been changed recently (hard to define recently, as it has been a while since my last interaction with the backup tool from cPanel), so this is why I'm having this post created. For one of my customers I am testing the remote FTP backup option.

    The backup fails to be transferred to the remote location, mainly as the quota of the account is exceeded (perfectly aware of the reason behind this).

    My concern is that, if the cPanel backup is configured to be uploaded to the remote FTP server and the FTP part fails then the backup does not remain on the local server. In these cases I am just left with no good backup at all.

    The 2nd part of the story, is that even if the transfer fails, the email that is being sent reports that a complete backup was performed:
    My customer was ignoring all the time the body of the message, mainly as he was sure that - based on the subject - a full backup was successfully performed and stored in the remote FTP location.

    Can someone share some light into this? To recap, I think it would be wiser to keep the backup stored on the local server if the FTP transfer fails (if this can be forced, please let me know how). And 2nd, if the subject of the backup notification can be changed if the transfer fails.
     
  2. d3ag0s

    d3ag0s Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any feedback?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you increase the quota for the account and force the backup to run, does it complete properly?

    You might want to open a ticket about this here:
    http://go.cpanel.net/bugs

    Is there anything in the /home/cpbackuptmp/ directory?
     
  4. d3ag0s

    d3ag0s Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, increasing the quota of the FTP account is resulting on having the backup successfully stored to the remote location. As for /home/cpbackuptmp/ the directory is empty at the end of the backup process.
     
  5. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!

    Is there any solution to this? I'm having the exact same problem.

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
Loading...

Share This Page