The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backups are enabled but not working

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by webservers, Feb 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Backups are ON but nothing has backup up!! YOU COULD HAVE DESTROYED MY LIFE BECAUSE I NEED THE RECENT BACKUP BUT SOMEONE CPANEL BACKUPS ARE APPARENTLY FAILING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    BACKUPS USED TO WORK FINE AND I HAVE NOT CHANGED ANYTHING IN A YEAR!!!!!!!

    URGENT FIX IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    #1 webservers, Feb 8, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2016
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    Please check the backup log if there is any error. Backup logs file path is :

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
     
    sandra lynn likes this.
  3. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you enable " Backup Accounts" options in your backup config ?

    Also enable backup for your all user through WHM >> Backup >> Backup User Selection
     
    #3 24x7server, Feb 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2016
  4. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OF COURSE BACKUPS ARE ENABLED, AS I SAID I HAVEN"T CHANGED ANYTHING IN A YEAR AND BACKUPS WORKED FINE UNTIL OCTOBER.

    BACKUP LOG HAS ONE LOG. IT SAYS THIS:
    Code:
    [cpbackup] Setting I/O priority to reduce system load: best-effort: prio 3
    [cpbackup] backup point /backup/cpbackup/weekly is 7.00 days old
    [cpbackup] backup point /backup/cpbackup/monthly is 28.00 days old
    [cpbackup] The following backups will be updated: weekly
    [cpbackup] Running dir & file backup with target : /backup/cpbackup/weekly
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: /var/cpanel/dnsadmin/sock: socket ignored
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from hard link targets
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    [cpbackup] Running account backup with target : /backup/cpbackup/weekly
    [cpbackup] The following backups were already up to date: monthly
    [cpbackup] Completed at Sat Jan 30 01:01:49 2016
    [cpbackup] Final state is Backup::Success (0)
    
    BUT THE BACKUPS FOLDER IS EMPTY AFTER OCTOBER. SO NOT SUCCESS!!!
     
    #4 webservers, Feb 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2016
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Why all caps?

    Please feel free to open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support about this. Those guys can fix anything.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,086
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. Clive Hornsby

    Clive Hornsby Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have just discovered my backups have never worked and get the same information showing in the log file.
    When I checked the backup directory does not exist.
    If the backups are not working, why do we get a log file saying the backup is successful.

    Not having backups has cost me a fortune and my site is still not working.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,086
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide additional details, such as which directory you are checking?

    Thank you.
     
  9. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    backups still not working and also cannot download any home directory backups. backups have not worked since october.
     
    #9 webservers, Feb 24, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2016
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,086
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I'm happy to help make sure the issue is resolved. Are you able to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  11. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    update: 1.5 years later and cpanel still has not fixed this extreme issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    backups have not run even once automatically since october of 2015.

    the only way i get backups is if i manually run cpanel backup via the command line in ssh.
     
    #11 webservers, Feb 8, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 8, 2017
  12. pwhjenny

    pwhjenny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    91
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to contact them as suggested by Michael. It's free. It can only be fixed if they have a look into your server.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,086
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @webservers,

    It seems like this might be an issue with the backup cron job if the backups generate properly when invoking /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup via the command line. You can run the following command via SSH as 'root" to verify the backup cron jobs are configured:

    Code:
    crontab -l|grep backup
    The output should look like this:

    Code:
    # crontab -l|grep backup
    0 1 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    0 2 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
    You may also want to verify the crond service is running via a command such as:

    Code:
    ps aux|grep crond
    The output should resemble this:

    Code:
    # ps aux|grep crond
    root     27016  0.0  0.0 114980   980 ?        Ss   19:35   0:00 crond
    root     27019  0.0  0.0 103312   876 pts/0    S+   19:35   0:00 grep crond
    If it's not running, you can restart it via the following command:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_crond
    I encourage you to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if the above solutions are unhelpful so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here and I will update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  14. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    grep code

    root@server [/]# crontab -l|grep backup
    0 2 * * 6 /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
    0 1 * * 6 /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup

    ps aux code

    root@server1 [/]# ps aux|grep crond
    root 16614 0.0 0.0 103312 856 pts/0 S+ 19:13 0:00 grep crond

    restart crond

    root@server [/]# /scripts/restartsrv_crond
    Waiting for “crond” to start ………failed.

    Service Error
    (XID xckgyg) The “crond” service failed to start.

    crond has failed. Contact your system administrator if the service does not automagically recover.

    well there you have it. How can I solve this issue. It has been 2 years with no resolution, this is the first progress I have seen on this issue.

     
    #14 webservers, Feb 11, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2017
  15. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Once I finally got your reply and I saw the crond failed to start, I solved this issue by reinstalling crond.

    ==================================================
    CentOS 6 / RHEL 6

    root@server [/]# yum reinstall vixie-cron crontabs

    click y for yes when it's ready

    root@server [/]# /sbin/service crond start
    Starting crond: [ OK ]
    check if it's running

    root@server [/]# /sbin/service crond start
    crond (pid 19217) is running...

    It's running now. So I expect that it should work now. Will update if it still doesn't work.

    ==================================================
    CentOS 7 / RHEL 7

    root@server [/]# yum reinstall cronie
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,086
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm happy to see the issue with the crond service is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  17. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please UNMARK as "solved", this did NOT solve my issue and still not a single backup has run except when I manually force it in SSH.

    The only issue that was solved when I said that, was cpanel crond was not running issue.
    However, even though cpanel crond is now running, no backups are ever created.

    I still need help with this critical issue.
     
    #17 webservers, Mar 5, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 6, 2017
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please open a ticket directly to cPanel Technical Support. It's free, it's easy, and they can get this sorted for you, I'm sure. From within your WHM:
    WebHost Manager »Support »Create Support Ticket

    Explanation of how opening a ticket from there works, is here:
    Create Support Ticket - Documentation - cPanel Documentation
     
  19. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As far as I understand the problem is not related to cpanel.

    Cron service on the server is not working. Do you know that the cron service is not provided by cpanel, but is related to the operating system side?
     
  20. tank

    tank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you need help with the critical issue, please do what several people in this thread have suggested. Open up a cpanel support ticket. We all know that it is way easier to help when you can see the problem yourself. So again if it is critical open the ticket as suggested. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page