Backups are enabled but not working

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Backups are ON but nothing has backup up!! YOU COULD HAVE DESTROYED MY LIFE BECAUSE I NEED THE RECENT BACKUP BUT SOMEONE CPANEL BACKUPS ARE APPARENTLY FAILING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BACKUPS USED TO WORK FINE AND I HAVE NOT CHANGED ANYTHING IN A YEAR!!!!!!!

URGENT FIX IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

SysSachin

Well-Known Member
Aug 23, 2015
604
48
28
India
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
Hi,

Please check the backup log if there is any error. Backup logs file path is :

cd /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup
 
  • Like
Reactions: sandra lynn

24x7server

Well-Known Member
Apr 17, 2013
1,911
97
78
India
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
Have you enable " Backup Accounts" options in your backup config ?

Also enable backup for your all user through WHM >> Backup >> Backup User Selection
 
Last edited by a moderator:

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
OF COURSE BACKUPS ARE ENABLED, AS I SAID I HAVEN"T CHANGED ANYTHING IN A YEAR AND BACKUPS WORKED FINE UNTIL OCTOBER.

BACKUP LOG HAS ONE LOG. IT SAYS THIS:
Code:
[cpbackup] Setting I/O priority to reduce system load: best-effort: prio 3
[cpbackup] backup point /backup/cpbackup/weekly is 7.00 days old
[cpbackup] backup point /backup/cpbackup/monthly is 28.00 days old
[cpbackup] The following backups will be updated: weekly
[cpbackup] Running dir & file backup with target : /backup/cpbackup/weekly
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: /var/cpanel/dnsadmin/sock: socket ignored
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from hard link targets
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
/bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
[cpbackup] Running account backup with target : /backup/cpbackup/weekly
[cpbackup] The following backups were already up to date: monthly
[cpbackup] Completed at Sat Jan 30 01:01:49 2016
[cpbackup] Final state is Backup::Success (0)
BUT THE BACKUPS FOLDER IS EMPTY AFTER OCTOBER. SO NOT SUCCESS!!!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Clive Hornsby

Registered
Feb 14, 2016
1
0
1
Crewe, Cheshire, UK
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I have just discovered my backups have never worked and get the same information showing in the log file.
When I checked the backup directory does not exist.
If the backups are not working, why do we get a log file saying the backup is successful.

Not having backups has cost me a fortune and my site is still not working.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,226
463
Could you provide additional details, such as which directory you are checking?

Thank you.
 

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
backups still not working and also cannot download any home directory backups. backups have not worked since october.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,226
463
Hello :)

I'm happy to help make sure the issue is resolved. Are you able to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

Thank you.
 

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
update: 1.5 years later and cpanel still has not fixed this extreme issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

backups have not run even once automatically since october of 2015.

the only way i get backups is if i manually run cpanel backup via the command line in ssh.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pwhjenny

Well-Known Member
Aug 31, 2012
138
0
91
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
You need to contact them as suggested by Michael. It's free. It can only be fixed if they have a look into your server.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,226
463
update: 1.5 years later and cpanel still has not fixed this extreme issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

backups have not run even once automatically since october of 2015.

the only way i get backups is if i manually run cpanel backup via the command line in ssh.
Hello @webservers,

It seems like this might be an issue with the backup cron job if the backups generate properly when invoking /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup via the command line. You can run the following command via SSH as 'root" to verify the backup cron jobs are configured:

Code:
crontab -l|grep backup
The output should look like this:

Code:
# crontab -l|grep backup
0 1 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
0 2 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
You may also want to verify the crond service is running via a command such as:

Code:
ps aux|grep crond
The output should resemble this:

Code:
# ps aux|grep crond
root     27016  0.0  0.0 114980   980 ?        Ss   19:35   0:00 crond
root     27019  0.0  0.0 103312   876 pts/0    S+   19:35   0:00 grep crond
If it's not running, you can restart it via the following command:

Code:
/scripts/restartsrv_crond
I encourage you to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if the above solutions are unhelpful so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here and I will update this thread with the outcome.

Thank you.
 

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello @webservers,

It seems like this might be an issue with the backup cron job if the backups generate properly when invoking /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup via the command line. You can run the following command via SSH as 'root" to verify the backup cron jobs are configured:

Code:
crontab -l|grep backup
The output should look like this:

Code:
# crontab -l|grep backup
0 1 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
0 2 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
You may also want to verify the crond service is running via a command such as:

Code:
ps aux|grep crond
The output should resemble this:

Code:
# ps aux|grep crond
root     27016  0.0  0.0 114980   980 ?        Ss   19:35   0:00 crond
root     27019  0.0  0.0 103312   876 pts/0    S+   19:35   0:00 grep crond
If it's not running, you can restart it via the following command:

Code:
/scripts/restartsrv_crond
I encourage you to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if the above solutions are unhelpful so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here and I will update this thread with the outcome.

Thank you.
grep code

[email protected] [/]# crontab -l|grep backup
0 2 * * 6 /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
0 1 * * 6 /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup

ps aux code

[email protected] [/]# ps aux|grep crond
root 16614 0.0 0.0 103312 856 pts/0 S+ 19:13 0:00 grep crond

restart crond

[email protected] [/]# /scripts/restartsrv_crond
Waiting for “crond” to start ………failed.

Service Error
(XID xckgyg) The “crond” service failed to start.

crond has failed. Contact your system administrator if the service does not automagically recover.

well there you have it. How can I solve this issue. It has been 2 years with no resolution, this is the first progress I have seen on this issue.
 
Last edited:

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
grep code

[email protected] [/]# crontab -l|grep backup
0 2 * * 6 /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup
0 1 * * 6 /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup

ps aux code

[email protected] [/]# ps aux|grep crond
root 16614 0.0 0.0 103312 856 pts/0 S+ 19:13 0:00 grep crond

restart crond

[email protected] [/]# /scripts/restartsrv_crond
Waiting for “crond” to start ………failed.

Service Error
(XID xckgyg) The “crond” service failed to start.

crond has failed. Contact your system administrator if the service does not automagically recover.

well there you have it. How can I solve this issue. It has been 2 years with no resolution, this is the first progress I have seen on this issue.
Once I finally got your reply and I saw the crond failed to start, I solved this issue by reinstalling crond.

==================================================
CentOS 6 / RHEL 6

[email protected] [/]# yum reinstall vixie-cron crontabs

click y for yes when it's ready

[email protected] [/]# /sbin/service crond start
Starting crond: [ OK ]
check if it's running

[email protected] [/]# /sbin/service crond start
crond (pid 19217) is running...

It's running now. So I expect that it should work now. Will update if it still doesn't work.

==================================================
CentOS 7 / RHEL 7

[email protected] [/]# yum reinstall cronie
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,904
2,226
463
Hello,

I'm happy to see the issue with the crond service is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.

Thank you.
 

webservers

Active Member
Nov 3, 2014
33
1
6
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Please UNMARK as "solved", this did NOT solve my issue and still not a single backup has run except when I manually force it in SSH.

The only issue that was solved when I said that, was cpanel crond was not running issue.
However, even though cpanel crond is now running, no backups are ever created.

I still need help with this critical issue.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

vacancy

Well-Known Member
Sep 20, 2012
492
174
93
Turkey
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
As far as I understand the problem is not related to cpanel.

Cron service on the server is not working. Do you know that the cron service is not provided by cpanel, but is related to the operating system side?
 

tank

Well-Known Member
Apr 12, 2011
255
5
68
Chicago, IL
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
If you need help with the critical issue, please do what several people in this thread have suggested. Open up a cpanel support ticket. We all know that it is way easier to help when you can see the problem yourself. So again if it is critical open the ticket as suggested. :)