Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backups not backing up since yesterday

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by sahostking, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    Luckily we have tons of backup for past few weeks but I noticed y4esterday that when running backups we get the following error:

    Bailing out.. you must set a valid destination for backups

    We backup to a local disk mounted as /backup
    Have this in the backup configuration page.

    Not sure what is wrong.

    Any ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you get any error when you hit the Validate destination action in Backup settings?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AS per attached image is the setup:

    local disk

    Untitled.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,443
    Likes Received:
    1,962
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you experience the error when forcing a generation of backups? You can do so via:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
    Full backup logs are available in:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just reran it after setting all to defaults and moving weekly to daily click save and then changing everything the way I wanted again and clicked save and then it worked with forcing it again.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. briansol

    briansol Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    ct
    My backups randomly stopped on 12/28/14. I'm still trying to figure out why.

    I had an error in cpanel upgrade for frontpage extentions... removed those, and did the cpupdate. running backups manually now, seeing if they take.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice