The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backups not going through to Amazon

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by ozfiddler, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. ozfiddler

    ozfiddler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have set up an Amazon S3 account, got the parameters and entered them in WHM. When I click Validate it says that validation was successful.

    But nothing is going through to Amazon. The folder there remains empty. There are backups in the backup folder on the server though. Is there some step I'm missing? I have all users set to "on" for Backup User Selection.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please check the backup logs in "/usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup" and the "/usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup_transporter.log" file. Do you notice any particular error messages or entries related to the Amazon S3 backup destination?

    Thank you.
     
  3. ozfiddler

    ozfiddler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply. The backups logs are the same as the ones that are emailed to me:

    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock: socket ignored
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: /var/cpanel/dnsadmin/sock: socket ignored
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from hard link targets
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    /bin/gtar: Removing leading `/' from member names
    [backup] System backups will not be uploaded to any remote destinations
    [backup] BACKUPACCTS disabled

    What is BACKUPACCTS?

    The other log file just shows a number of entries, all like this:

    [2014-04-03 02:01:51 +1100] info [cpbackup_transporter] cPanel Backup Transporter Queue Daemon started.

    [2014-04-03 02:01:54 +1100] info [cpbackup_transporter] cPanel Backup Transporter Queue Daemon is being stopped.

    No mention of Amazon anywhere.
     
  4. ozfiddler

    ozfiddler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK - I tried setting up an ftp backup destination. It validated OK and it all looks good. I did a forced backup and nothing went through to my ftp location. I get a similar looking log file, including this line again:

    [backup] System backups will not be uploaded to any remote destinations
     
  5. ozfiddler

    ozfiddler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah.. I think I have it now. Am I right in thinking that you can't backup the system files at all to ANY remote location...? I tried the forced backup again to my ftp location only this time I added one account. The account came through OK but no system files.

    Yet in the docs it says "If system backup is enabled, the system backup files are saved locally into the default backup directory (/backup). You can also upload system backup files to additional destinations."
     
  6. Jonathan More

    Jonathan More Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am also interested in this, asked this in different string but hopefully will get answer here.
    I get only accounts backed up to Amazon, not system files.
     
  7. ozfiddler

    ozfiddler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hooray! Adding that "upload_system_backup: 1" line to the backup configuration file does the trick, as explained in the other thread on this same issue.

    It's all working now... thanks for your time.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. Jonathan More

    Jonathan More Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just to confirm, I need to add this upload_system_backup: 1 to amazon_cloud_UID... file that can be found in var/cpanel/backups directory?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is correct.

    Thanks.
     
  11. Jonathan More

    Jonathan More Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    All is working now fine, except sometimes there comes error with one specific account. It gives backup transfer error "Unable to send account to destination Amazon Cloud". This account is big, about 8 Gb so maybe that has something to do with it?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are there any entries in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup_transporter.log when this happens? Have you tried increasing the "Timeout" value for this backup destination?

    Thank you.
     
  13. Jonathan More

    Jonathan More Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, I checked the log and there is error:
    warn [cpbackup_transporter] Upload attempt failed: Amazon::S3: Amazon responded with 400 Bad Request.
    There seems to be 3 attempts, all with 400 Bad Requests, until it skips to next account.

    Where could I increase the timeout value?
     
    #13 Jonathan More, May 21, 2014
    Last edited: May 21, 2014
  14. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please open a support ticket using the link in my signature. One of our analysts will investigate that for you. Please post the ticket number here when you have one so we can update this thread accordingly.
     
  15. Jonathan More

    Jonathan More Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, here is the ticket:
    4984561
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, it appears this issue was related to the Amazon server itself. The error code is referenced on their FAQ:

    Amazon S3 Technical FAQs

    The user was advised to contact their support to see if more information about the error is available.

    Thank you.
     
  17. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have exactly the same here.... a larger account (10Gb) refusing to backup to S3, smaller accounts OK. Timing out we assume. cPanel have taken a look at our server, and believe that the problem lies at Amazon's end, not ours.

    cPanel's advise to us is:

    "I would recommend trying to set the timeout on the Amazon S3 backup destination much higher to see if that helps resolve the issue. You might try a setting like 3000 or higher to see if that helps."

    The challenge I have right now is that, after initial Googling, it's far from obvious where in the S3 management console is the option to adjust the timeout value. Will keep looking...
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  19. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
Loading...

Share This Page