The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backups not uploading to remote destination

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by daveyb17, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. daveyb17

    daveyb17 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    well the subject pretty much says it all really, i have an error showing in my cpbackup logs as per below:-

    [backup] System backups will not be uploaded to any remote destinations

    I have tried this on all domains on the VPS (about 35) and even just one very small account with a smal wordpress site (less than 100MB in total) and i still get the error.

    I can validate the remote destination and all is ok, i have checked the firewall on both servers and they are white listed respectively.

    The VPS backs up fine to it's self but i have to have it go to a remote destination for redundancy. does any one have any ideas on what could be causing the issue?

    cheers
    Dave
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Review the /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup_transporter.log file and let us know if you see any specific error messages related to the upload failure.

    Thank you.
     
  3. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Just to clarify, the message you see pertains only to System Backup files, (/etc/ /var/cpanel/* etc..). Not to accounts.
    There is an option in the new backup system to backup system files (this is usually off by default). If you did not turn it on, you will see that message in the log file each time.
     
  4. daveyb17

    daveyb17 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thats strange i have system backups turned on and i still see the error message.

    however it is now backing up accounts to the remote server. The only setting i changed was passive mode, ran validate, then switched it back again and ran validate again.

    i'll see how i get on with it.

    thanks for your help! :)
    Dave
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The backup of system files to remote destinations must be enabled manually at this time. Instructions on this can be found at:

    System Backups

    Feel free to vote and add your input to the feature request that allows system backups to be enabled through WHM:

    System File Backups through WHM

    Thank you.
     
  6. kjg

    kjg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi
    When using the manual method and setting "upload_system_backup: 1" in the backup conf file the system files are uploaded to the remote server as they should.
    But, if we uncheck "Retain backups in the default backup directory", the system files are kept in the local backup directory anyway. The accounts are not kept, only the system files.
    Is this a bug, a feature request or just a handling error from us and we are to change something else manually as well?

    edit: we are using 11.42.0 build 17

    // kjg
     
    #6 kjg, Mar 4, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Per our documentation:
    Also, here is a quote from a previous inquiry about this:

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page