The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backups/transfers are hanging.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vivo2341, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. vivo2341

    vivo2341 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just noticed today that when running a transfer or site backup the tar process hangs and eats up all the cpu.

    12:40am up 6 days, 7:54, 1 user, load average: 6.51, 6.87, 6.50
    153 processes: 138 sleeping, 9 running, 5 zombie, 1 stopped
    CPU states: 35.7% user, 61.4% system, 2.7% nice, 0.0% idle
    Mem: 1015068K av, 1002144K used, 12924K free, 0K shrd, 186968K buff
    Swap: 2048276K av, 156232K used, 1892044K free 562036K cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
    9309 user1 20 0 700 700 604 R 19.9 0.0 28:59 tar
    10422 user2 20 0 704 632 604 R 19.9 0.0 23:57 tar
    8465 user3 18 0 704 704 604 R 18.7 0.0 33:17 tar
    11955 user4 17 0 704 704 604 R 18.5 0.0 19:28 tar
    7721 user5 15 0 700 628 604 R 18.3 0.0 40:55 tar


    I just noticed this the other day and have not been able to find any info on it doing a search so I am hoping someone has had the same issue.
     
  2. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got the same problem on one server when backup runs but have not found and answer yet.
     
  3. summy

    summy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    im getting this problem now. Tar hogs all the CPU time while it is backing up user accounts. No space left on /

    Anyone else getting this?
     
  4. summy

    summy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nevermind, fixed it after I had a look into why this was happening. /backup is mounted to /, which only has 500mb space. Now mounted to /usr. Doh!
     
  5. jmfrisch

    jmfrisch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have started getting this problem in the last few weeks...my backup mount has plenty of space...
     
  6. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have same problem. Did you ever resolve this?

    Thanks

    Will
     
Loading...

Share This Page