Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Backups/transfers are hanging.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vivo2341, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. vivo2341

    vivo2341 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I just noticed today that when running a transfer or site backup the tar process hangs and eats up all the cpu.

    12:40am up 6 days, 7:54, 1 user, load average: 6.51, 6.87, 6.50
    153 processes: 138 sleeping, 9 running, 5 zombie, 1 stopped
    CPU states: 35.7% user, 61.4% system, 2.7% nice, 0.0% idle
    Mem: 1015068K av, 1002144K used, 12924K free, 0K shrd, 186968K buff
    Swap: 2048276K av, 156232K used, 1892044K free 562036K cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
    9309 user1 20 0 700 700 604 R 19.9 0.0 28:59 tar
    10422 user2 20 0 704 632 604 R 19.9 0.0 23:57 tar
    8465 user3 18 0 704 704 604 R 18.7 0.0 33:17 tar
    11955 user4 17 0 704 704 604 R 18.5 0.0 19:28 tar
    7721 user5 15 0 700 628 604 R 18.3 0.0 40:55 tar


    I just noticed this the other day and have not been able to find any info on it doing a search so I am hoping someone has had the same issue.
     
  2. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Got the same problem on one server when backup runs but have not found and answer yet.
     
  3. summy

    summy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    im getting this problem now. Tar hogs all the CPU time while it is backing up user accounts. No space left on /

    Anyone else getting this?
     
  4. summy

    summy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Nevermind, fixed it after I had a look into why this was happening. /backup is mounted to /, which only has 500mb space. Now mounted to /usr. Doh!
     
  5. jmfrisch

    jmfrisch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    I have started getting this problem in the last few weeks...my backup mount has plenty of space...
     
  6. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I have same problem. Did you ever resolve this?

    Thanks

    Will
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice