The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bad disk ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by oderland, Jun 10, 2003.

  1. oderland

    oderland Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kungsbacka, Sweden
    One of our servers get this message in /var/log message and stop answer after that:

    Jun 8 05:05:10 twix kernel: hda: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    Jun 8 05:05:10 twix kernel: hda: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }


    Is it just bad disk or?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    The drive reports these errors and then nothing works after?

    Yes, the drive is likely dying. I would back it up and move it all to a new drive. We saw this a few times over the years and if you wait too long one day it just wont spin back up at all.

    Do nothing and risk losing it all. Replace the drive and what do you lose, $75 ??.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Just to clarify, are you saying the the drive stops responding after those errors?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. rhood

    rhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Seeing the same error on two brand new servers, so in this case I doubt it is any problem with the drive.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    I think it's to do with the Linux OS. I've seen it on a spanking new HD and it's been running 2 yrs after i first saw the error.

    So.. i doubt it's just "because" it's going to die.


    Suggestion: Use Google Groups to look this up. You will get a lot of answers.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I asked for clarification if the drive was failing after you saw the errors. I'll assume it is not, in which case, the cause of the messages is S.M.A.R.T.

    The OS (WHM is doing the querying) is trying to check to see if S.M.A.R.T. is reporting any errors, however, it appears you have S.M.A.R.T. disabled in the BIOS. This is what is causing this message.

    View the cPanel FAQs at http://faq.cpanel.net/ for information on how to disable the S.M.A.R.T. checks so that you no longer see that message (or conversely enable S.M.A.R.T. in your BIOS).

    Jaz

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    jsteel, AH! Makes sense.
    Good catch!

    Brenden

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    But is the drive failing?. I thought he said it stops working after getting the errors. Does SMART checking really cause this and does it do it to all drives and all O/S's ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The reason is because the drive doesnt support SMART, not because its dying.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. oderland

    oderland Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kungsbacka, Sweden
    stone dead

    Sorry , I was away for some days. Our support members had trouble with this machine twice during past 5 days.

    After those messages the machine is not available to contact, no ping nothing... stone dead almost! I have a monitor atached and those line are the last (about DriveReady SeekComplete Error } before the machine freezed.

    The machine is a Dual AMD MP 2100+ with 1GB RAM. It is RH 8.0 (SMP) , It has raid but we do not use it. Any clue?

    Thanks

    Jack

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We got those exact same errors before a drive of ours failed.

    Get a new drive, copy the contents to it and forget about it.

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. oderland

    oderland Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kungsbacka, Sweden
    copy content ...

    any ideas how to copy content of a drive best way without to long downtime?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  14. WebNET

    WebNET Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA Brooklyn NYC
    Yes, I am getting the same erros after updating the Kernel.

    I ahve just emailed ATJEU of the issue, asking for further advice as to replace HDD or turn SMART on/off?

    Thanks,
    JE

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page