The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bad Install?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by coderoyal, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. coderoyal

    coderoyal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm afraid I'm not able to access the cpaen utility to configure it after installing. I have read the documentation, but when I try to do the following:

    Following a successful install you should setup cPanel/WHM as soon as possible. In order to complete this process you will need to log into your machine using its main (eth0/fxp0) IP address; you should input something similar to this into your browser:

    https://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:2087

    I type in https://66.186.176.231:2087, nothing happens. Tried http://66.186.176.231:2086, nothing happens.

    Restart server.. restarted OK, but no improvement.

    With the exception of an up2date run, no changes have been made to the server. I run the script.. took about two hours to complete. (The first attempt failed when the script was trying to update the packages using up2date, I then formatted and tried up2date myself on the second install to take care of that step before running the script)

    I did see some errors, including some MySQL errors, but I presume this is normal?

    I don't know what to do? I am using the 15 day eval right now (evaluating C-Panel and Plesk).

    Does anyone know what I may be able to try to get it working?

    P.S. The instructions state to only install this product on a fresh server.. how "fresh" should it be? Should I only install the bare minimum components (don't even install apache, mysql, etc... from the redhat cds)?

    Thank You!
    Alan
     
  2. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try running /scripts/upcp --force and check for errors
     
  3. coderoyal

    coderoyal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you for the response. I already formatted and tried again.. but this time, I did the following. I chose th eminimum option so RedHat only installed the minimum applications. I also overlooked the partition setup, then made my server match it.

    The product is working now! I'll continue trying it.

    Take care everyone!
     
Loading...

Share This Page