Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Bad naming resolution.

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by juanmc, Sep 26, 2016.

  1. juanmc

    juanmc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I am working with some cpanel servers, and last week, I've started facing a weird problem.
    when I ping nothing, I gen 127.0.53.53 as an answer:

    Code:
     ping nothing
    PING nothing.off (127.0.53.53) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 127.0.53.53: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.064 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.53.53: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.058 ms
    
    I've checker my resolv.cof and it's ok

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    
    I wanted to know if someone else is facing a similar issue and found a workaround or a solution.
    All I've founded is the following Link icann.org/news/announcement-2-2014-08-01-en but I couldn't figured out, how to fix it.

    Thanks in advance!!.

    I wanted to add, that also in one of my servers. when do the same ping, instead of
    127.0.53.53 the answer I get is 127.0.0.1

    Thanks!
     
    #1 juanmc, Sep 26, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Do you notice any custom entries in your /etc/hosts file?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. juanmc

    juanmc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,
    Sorry for the delay in my answer, the last weeks had been very complicated for me.
    Yes, I have a few custom entries, as an example

    x.x.x.x server.example.com
    (being x.x.x.x the server ip address)
    and a couple of entries for another servers
    y.y.y.y another-server.example.com

    Best Regards.

    Juan
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I recommend reaching out to your data center or hosting provider to determine if that behavior is by design if you have no entries in /etc/hosts that correspond to the "nothing" hostname.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. juanmc

    juanmc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Thank you, I will check that.

    Best Regards.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice