The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bad naming resolution.

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by juanmc, Sep 26, 2016.

  1. juanmc

    juanmc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I am working with some cpanel servers, and last week, I've started facing a weird problem.
    when I ping nothing, I gen 127.0.53.53 as an answer:

    Code:
     ping nothing
    PING nothing.off (127.0.53.53) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 127.0.53.53: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.064 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.53.53: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.058 ms
    
    I've checker my resolv.cof and it's ok

    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    
    I wanted to know if someone else is facing a similar issue and found a workaround or a solution.
    All I've founded is the following Link icann.org/news/announcement-2-2014-08-01-en but I couldn't figured out, how to fix it.

    Thanks in advance!!.

    I wanted to add, that also in one of my servers. when do the same ping, instead of
    127.0.53.53 the answer I get is 127.0.0.1

    Thanks!
     
    #1 juanmc, Sep 26, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. juanmc

    juanmc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,
    Sorry for the delay in my answer, the last weeks had been very complicated for me.
    Yes, I have a few custom entries, as an example

    x.x.x.x server.example.com
    (being x.x.x.x the server ip address)
    and a couple of entries for another servers
    y.y.y.y another-server.example.com

    Best Regards.

    Juan
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I recommend reaching out to your data center or hosting provider to determine if that behavior is by design if you have no entries in /etc/hosts that correspond to the "nothing" hostname.

    Thank you.
     
  5. juanmc

    juanmc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Thank you, I will check that.

    Best Regards.
     

Share This Page